Word Document PDF Document

California Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave., San Francisco



Media Contact: Terrie Prosper, 415.703.1366, news@cpuc.ca.gov


SAN FRANCISCO, August 20, 2008 - The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) today announced that the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) has awarded one of its four Champion of Energy Efficiency Awards to Commissioner Dian M. Grueneich.

The ACEEE awards recognize leadership and accomplishment in the energy efficiency field. According to the ACEEE, winners are selected based on demonstrated excellence in program implementation, research and development, energy policy, or private sector initiatives.

Commissioner Grueneich was honored for her outstanding career-long leadership in the energy efficiency field, and innovation in utility regulation. In selecting Commissioner Grueneich for this award, ACEEE said: "Ms. Grueneich played an important role as a leader in the movement for energy efficiency policies and regulations in California. For the past three years, she has served on the California Public Utilities Commission overseeing the implementation of some of the most aggressive and successful utility energy efficiency programs in the world. She has played a major role in helping to develop incentives that reward utilities for meeting energy-saving goals, pushing for good evaluation to document program savings, and advocating for strong energy efficiency efforts as part of California's climate change action plans."

"I would like to thank ACEEE for this wonderful tribute, which is really recognition for the great efforts of the CPUC," said Commissioner Grueneich. "California has a 30 year history of implementing highly successful energy efficiency through the CPUC's programs as well as

state building and appliance standards. Moving forward, we are focusing now on the California Long-Term Energy Efficiency Strategic Plans and the next generation of energy efficiency in California that will support behavior and market transformation so that energy efficiency truly becomes a way of life for all Californians."

The ACEEE award recipients were nominated by their peers, and selected by a committee of ACEEE's Board of Directors from more than 75 nominations. Selection criteria were based on each nominee's impact, innovation, and leadership in the energy efficiency field.

For more information on ACEEE, please visit www.aceee.org.

For more information on the CPUC, please visit www.cpuc.ca.gov.


Top Of Page