Word Document PDF Document

_

_ San Francisco Community Power (SF Power)

EPS Workshop Attendees

Party

Name

Tel #

Email

APS Energy Services

Brian Ochs

602-744-5041

brian.ochs@apses.com

AReM

Gregg Klatt

818-961-3002

klatt@energyattorney.com

Calfarm Bureau

Karin Mills

916-561-5655

Kmills@CFBF.com

Calpine

Avis Kowalewski

925-597-6640

kowalewskia@calpine.com

CCAR

Mike McCormick

213-891-1484

mike@climateregistry.org

CCAR

Robyn Camp

213-891-6931

robyn@climateregistry.org

CCC

Patrick McGuire

510-549-6922

patrickm@crossborderenergy.com

CEC

Adam Pan

916-654-5131

apan@energy.state.ca.us

CEC

Gabriel Taylor

916-654-4482

gtaylor@energy.state/ca

CEC

Karen Griffin

916-654-4833

kgriffin@energy.state.ca.us

CEC

Pierre DuVair

916-653-8685

pduvair@energy.state.ca.us

CEED

Paul Seby

303-634-4000

pseby@mckennalong.com

CERA

Olaf Bystrom

415-568-2214

obystrom@cera.com

Chevron

Andrew Mingst

 

aeon@chevron.com

Climate Change Wedge Fund

Alex Rau

415-215-3476

alexander.rau@climatewedge.com

CMTA

Karen Lindh

916-729-1562

karen@klindh.com

COG

Chuck Solt

916-729-5004

chuck@csolt.net

Constellation

Mary Lynch

916-562-286-

marylynch@constellation.com

Constellation

Andy Brown

916-447-2166

ABD@eslawfirm.com

Constellation

Bill Chen

 

bill.chen@constellation.com

CPUC

Adam Langton

 

ahl@cpuc.ca.gov

CPUC

Judith Ikle

415-703-1486

jci@cpuc.ca.gov

CPUC

Matthew Deal

415-703-5649

mjd@cpuc.ca.gov

CPUC

Molly Sterkel

 

mts@cpuc.ca.gov

CPUC

Sarah Swanteck

 

ss2@cpuc.ca.gov

CRS

Jennifer Martin

415-561-2104

jmartin@resource-solutions.org

CRS

Lars Kvaus

415-561-2110

lars@resource-solutions.org

CURE

Gloria D. Smith

 

gsmith@adamsbroadwell.com

DRA

Christine Tam

415-355-5556

tam@cpuc.ca.gov

DRA

Diana Lee

415-703-4342

dil@cpuc.ca.gov

DRA

Don Schultz

916-327-2400

dks@cpuc.ca.gov

DRA

Don Smith

415-703-1562

dsh@cpuc.ca.gov

Ecos Consulting

Carmen Baskette

415-371-1230

cbaskette@ecoconsulting.com

EPUC

Debbie Chance

832-854-5641

 

EPUC/CAC

Andy Van Horn

925-254-3358

andy.vanhorn@vhcenergy.com

EPUC/CAC

James A. Ross

636-530-9544

jimross@r-c-s-inc.com

EPUC/CAC

Mike Katz

925-330-6602

michaelkatz@vhcenergy.com

EPUC/CAC

Annie Stange

503-402-8703

sas@k-law.com

EPUC/CAC

Don Brookhyser

503-402-8702

deb@a-klaw.com

EPUC/CAC

Jim Mosher

661-665-5671

jpmosher@aeraenergy.com

Evolution Markets

Laura Meadors

415-955-0591

lmeadors@evomarkets.com

FWMI

Brian Walker

925-313-0800

brian.walker@twc.com

Green Power

Greg Morris

510-644-2700

gmorris@emf.net

IBEW

Landis Marttka

925-285-9057

LKM4@IBEW1245.com

IEPA

Brian Cragg

415-392-7900

bcragg@gmssr.com

IEPA

David Branchcomb

916-988-3879

david@branchcomb.com

IETA

Ia Carter

613-594-3912

carter@ieta.org

LS Power

Audra Hartman

916-441-6242

Ahartman@lspower.com

LS Power

Jed Gibson

916-447-2166

jjg@eslawfirm.com

LWV CA

Jane Turnball

650-559-1966

jaturnba@ix-netcom.com

McCarthy and Berlin

C. Susie Berlin

408-288-2080

sberlin@mccarthylaw.com

NRDC

Audrey Chang

415-875-6100

achang@nrdc.org

NRDC

Edan Rotenberg

415-875-6000

erotenberg@nrdc.org

NRDC

Kristin Burford

415-875-6100

kburford@nrdc.org

NRG

Alan Comnes

503-239-6813

alan.comnes@nrgenergy.com

NRG

Jesus Arrendondo

916-275-7493

jesus.arrendondo@nrgenergy.com

Oxy

Dennis Champion

661-763-6068

dennis_champion@oxy.com

PacifiCorp

Cathy Woollums

563-333-8009

cswoollums@midamerican.com

PacifiCorp

Kyle L. Davis

503-813-6601

Kyle.L.Davis@Pacificorp.com

PG&E

Chris Warner

415-973-6695

cjw5@pge.com

PG&E

Hal LaFlash

415-973-7928

HOL1@pge.com

PG&E

Ray D. Williams

415-973-3634

RDW0@pge.com

PG&E

Sebastien Csapo

415-973-7320

SSCB@pge.com

PG&E

Soumya Sastry

415-973-3295

svs6@pge.com

Pilot Power Group

Tom Darton

 

 

Platts

Lisa Weinzimer

415-387-1025

lisa.weinzimer@platts.com

Powerex

Gifford Jung

604-891-6040

gifford.jung@powerex.com

Redding

Dave Arthur

530-339-7304

 

Redefining Progress

Andrew Hoerner

510-507-4820

hoerner@redefiningprogress.org

Reliant

Brian McQuown

 

bmcquown@reliant.com

Resero Consulting

Ellen Wolfe

916-791-4533

ewolfe@resero.com

Resero Consulting

Rick Wolfe

916-791-8362

rwolfe@resero.com

SCE

Annette Gilliam

626-302-4880

gilliaa@sce.com

SCE

Dhaval Dagli

626-302-4840

dhaval.dagli@sce.com

SCE

Howard Gollay

626-302-4122

howard.gollay@sce.com

SCE

Kevin Cini

 

kevin.cini@sce.com

SCE

Michael Hertel

626-302-2956

michaelhertel@sce.com

SDG&E

Chris Yunker

858-636-6880

cyunker@semprautilities.com

SDG&E

Dave Barker

 

dbarker@semprautilities.com

SDG&E

Grant Frost

858-654-1783

gfrost@semprautilities.com

SDG&E

Mike McClenehan

858-650-6156

mmcclenahan@semprautilities.com

SDG&E

Rasha Prince

213-244-5141

rprince@semprautilities.com

SDG&E

Robb Anderson

858-650-6183

Randerson@semprautilities.com

SDG&E

Ryan Miller

858-650-6169

rmiller@semprautilities.com

Sempra Global

Al Pak

619-696-2000

apak@sempraglobal.com

Sempra Global

Ted Roberts

619-699-5111

troberts@sempra.com

Sempra Global

Yvonne Gross

619-417-2048

ygross@sempra.com

SF Community Power

Richard McCann

530-757-6363

rmccann@umich.edu

TURN

Marcel Haniger

 

marcel@turn.org

TURN

Nina Suetake

415-929-8876

nsuetake@turn.org

UCS

Cliff Chen

510-843-1872 x307

CCHEN@UCSUSA.ORG

UCS

John Galloway

510-843-1872

jgalloway@ucsusa.org

WRA

Eric Guidry

303-444-1188 ext. 226

eguidry@westernresources.org

Appendix E

1 We use the term "IOUs" to refer collectively to Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E), San Diego Gas & Electric Company (SDG&E), and Southern California Edison Company (SCE), the utility respondents to the this proceeding.

2 Primary greenhouse gases influenced by humans are carbon dioxide (CO2), methane (CH4), nitrous oxide (N2O), hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), perfluorocarbons (PFCs), and sulfur hexafluoride (SF6). Visit the EPA's website at http://yosemite.epa.gov/oar/globalwarming.nsf/content/emissions.html for a more thorough overview of GHGs.

3 http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/EFILE/RULC/56888.pdf

4 Richard Cowart of the Regulatory Assistance Project assisted CPUC staff in framing the workshop and developing the straw proposal, and led the workshop discussions.

5 The agenda for the workshop is posted at www.cpuc.ca.gov/static/hottopics/1energy/ghgperformancestandardworkshopagenda+_june+21_23.pdf

6 The cogeneration calculation presented by Energy Producers and Users Coalition and Cogeneration Association of California is posted at: www.cpuc.ca.gov/static/energy/electric/climate+change/cogen+calculationpresentation.pps

7 SB 1368 Section 1(g) states "It is vital to ensure all electricity load-serving entities internalize the significant and underrecognized cost of emissions recognized by the PUC with respect to the investor-owned electric utilities, and to reduce California's exposure to costs associated with future federal regulation of these emissions.

8 Section 8340(j) defines long-term commitment as follows: " `Long-term financial commitment' means either a new ownership investment in baseload generation or a new or renewed contract with a term of five or more years, which includes procurement of baseload generation."

9 Similar and related commitments should be considered cumulatively with respect to size, capacity factor, and duration. For example, two contracts with a baseload facility, each for 40% of the hours of the year, must be seen as the equivalent of a single commitment with an expected capacity factor of 80%. A contract for a four-year term, linked to a contract for the following 4 years, must be seen as a single commitment for eight years.

10 Thus, acquiring a resource for "shaping" purposes, or because it can follow load does not for these reasons alone exempt it from application of the gateway criteria recommended in this Report.

11 "Specified contracts" are contracts that specify the generating units or facility providing the power, while "unspecified contracts" are not linked to any particular generating resource.

12 Their presentation at the workshop providing background for this recommendation is posted at www.cpuc.ca.gov/static/energy/electric/climate+change/cogen+calculationpresentation.pps

13 This does not discourage renewable power or the RECs market. The desirable emissions characteristics of the renewable generation do not disappear. Consistent with the purpose of tradable RECs, the power source that is "covered" by the RECs should be treated as renewable for the purpose of EPS calculations.

14 Similar and related commitments should be considered cumulatively with respect to size, capacity factor, and duration. For example, two contracts with a baseload facility, each for 40% of the hours of the year, must be seen as the equivalent of a single commitment with an expected capacity factor of 80%. A contract for a four-year term, linked to a contract for the following 4 years, must be seen as a single commitment for eight years.

15 In the response to Data Request Q3, parties indicated an average heat rate of 8630 btu/kWh and emissions rate of 1770 lb CO2/MWh for IGCC facilities.

16 Similar and related commitments should be considered cumulatively with respect to size, capacity factor, and duration. For example, two contracts with a baseload facility, each for 40% of the hours of the year, must be seen as the equivalent of a single commitment with an expected capacity factor of 80%. A contract for a four-year term, linked to a contract for the following 4 years, must be seen as a single commitment for eight years.

17 In the response to Data Request Q3, parties indicated an average heat rate of 8630 btu/kWh and emissions rate of 1770 lb CO2/MWh for IGCC facilities.

18 A. Denny Ellerman, "New Entrant and Closure Provisions: How do they distort?" Energy Journal, Forthcoming (2006).

19 We use the single acronym "EPS" throughout this memorandum to refer generically to a GHG emissions performance standard.

20 Discussion on this topic during pre-workshop comments and at the workshop will focus on policy issues, not legal issues. As discussed at the PHC, there will be a separate opportunity for briefs on Commission jurisdiction with respect to the adoption of an interim performance standard to non-IOU LSEs.

21 This would be similar to the application of "early reduction credits" in other pollution management regimes.

22 They may also make further refinements to the June 7 submittal for this purpose. If further refinements in the June 7 responses are made, the IOUs should clearly present in their workshop hand-outs the nature of the refinements, along with any updated data or source information.

23 Or in the case of joint ownership of a power plant, the entire facility being constructed.

24 As indicated in Appendix A, under the Straw Proposal the Commission would impute an emissions profile for unspecified contracts.

25 Legal briefs on jurisdiction and related issues are being filed separately.

26 Similar and related commitments should be considered cumulatively with respect to size, capacity factor, and duration. For example, two contracts with a baseload facility, each for 40% of the hours of the year, must be seen as the equivalent of a single commitment with an expected capacity factor of 80%. A contract for a four-year term, linked to a contract for the following 4 years, must be seen as a single commitment for eight years.

27 In the response to Data Request Q3, parties indicated an average heat rate of 8630 btu/kWh and emissions rate of 1770 lb CO2/MWh for IGCC facilities.

Top Of Page