GENERAL ORDER NO. 115-G
(Supersedes General Order No. 115-F)

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

RULES REQUIRING ALL CHARTER-PARTY CARRIERS OF PASSENGERS SUBJECT
TO THE PUBLIC UTILITIES CODE TO PROVIDE AND THEREAFTER
CONTINUE IN EFFECT ADEQUATE PROTECTION AGAINST LIABILITY IMPOSED
BY LAW UPON SUCH CARRIERS FOR THE PAYMENT OF DAMAGES
FOR PERSONAL BODILY INJURIES (INCLUDING DEATH RESULTING
THEREFROM) AND DAMAGE TO OR DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY.

Adopted August 18,2016,  Effective August 18, 2016
(Resolution TL-19122)

(1) Each charter-party carrier of passengers, as defined in the Public Utilities Code, shall
electronically file its insurance policies under the insurance electronic filing requirements established for
passenger and household carriers, to provide and thereafter continue in effect, so long as it may engage
in conducting such operations, adequate protection against liability imposed by law upon such carriers
for the payment of damages for personal bodily injuries (including death resulting therefrom) and for
damage to or destruction of property, other than property being transported by such carrier for any
shipper or consignee, whether the property of one or more than one claimant, in amounts not less than
the amounts set forth in the following schedule:

Vehicle Seating Capacity Amount of Coverage
Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or more........... $5,000,000
ST, e e $1.500.000
Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 7 passengers or fewer............ $750,000
EXCEPT:
Any vehicle operated under a Class C Certificate as defined by P.U.
Code Section 5383.....co i $750,000

AND:
Any vehicle operated under a Class P Certificate specific to transportation network companies,
as defined by P.U. Code Section 5431(a):

Any vehicle operating under P.U. Code Section 5433(b)(1).... $1,000,000 for bodily injury and
property damage

Any vehicle operating under P.U. Code Section 5433(b)(2).... $1,000,000 for uninsured and
underinsured motorist coverage

Any vehicle operating under P.U. Code Section 5433(c)......... $50,000 for bodily injury (per
person); and
$100,000 for bodily injury (per
incident); and
$30,000 for property damage;
and
$200,000 excess coverage
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(2) The protection herein required shall be provided in one of the following ways:

(a) By a certificate or certificates of public liability insurance and property damage insurance in a
form approved by the Commission, issued by a company, or companies, licensed to write
such insurance in the State of California, or by non-admitted insurers subject to Section 1763
of the Insurance Code.

(b) By an original bond, or bonds, issued by a surety company, or companies, permitted to write
surety bonds in the State of California.

(c) By a certificate of insurance issued by a special lines' surplus line broker licensed as such in
this State.

(d) By any other plan of protection for the public approved as hereinafter required.

(e) By a plan of self-insurance approved as hereinafter required.

(f) By a combination of two or more of the foregoing methods.

(3) The certificate of insurance or bond evidencing such protection hereinabove required shall not be
cancelable on less than thirty days' written notice to the Public Utilities Commission, such notice to
commence to run from the date the notice is actually received at the office of the Commission.

(4) The Commission will give consideration to and may approve the application of a charter-party
carrier of passengers to qualify as a self-insurer provided such charter-party carrier of passengers files an
application with the Commission supported by a true and accurate statement of its financial condition
and other evidence which will establish to the satisfaction of the Commission the ability of such charter-
party carrier of passengers to satisfy its obligations for public liability and property damage within the
limits hereinabove prescribed, without affecting the stability and permanency of the business of such
charter-party carrier of passengers.

(5) The Commission will also consider applications for approval of other securities or agreements of
indemnity and may approve any such applications if satisfied that the security or agreement of
indemnity offered will afford the security for the protection of the public hereinabove contemplated.

(6) Any charter-party carrier of passengers engaged in interstate or intrastate operations within the
State of California, which is and becomes qualified as a self-insurer with the Interstate Commerce
Commission promulgated thereunder, shall be exempt, so long as such qualification remains effective,
from the foregoing provisions of this General Order. Proof of the existence and continuation of such
exempt status shall be filed with the Commission annually. Such proof of such qualification shall be
filed in such form and at such times as the Commission may require.

(7) Each charter-party carrier of passengers desiring to become qualified as a self-insurer, or to have
orders or certificates issued by the Interstate Commerce Commission authorizing self-insurance
accepted by this Commission, or to have other securities or agreements of indemnity accepted in lieu of
the bond or insurance hereinabove provided, shall make application therefore to this Commission stating
all of the facts which shall be required by the Commission with respect thereto. If such application is
approved, such charter-party carrier of passengers, while such order of approval shall remain effective,
shall be exempt from furnishing a certificate of insurance or bond hereinabove provided.

(8) Every insurance certificate, surety bond, or equivalent protection to the public shall contain a
provision that such certificate, surety bond, or equivalent protection shall remain in full force and effect
until cancelled in the manner provided by Section (3) of this General Order.

(9) The cancellation or suspension of a policy of insurance or surety bond or the cancellation,
suspension, or surrender of a certificate of self-insurance issued by this Commission or the Interstate
Commerce Commission, or the impairment or destruction of any security, or the cancellation or
termination of any agreement or indemnity, or the alteration (without first obtaining Commission
authorization) of any agreement of indemnity, shall constitute good cause for suspension or revocation
of the operating authority of the affected charter-party carrier of passengers. No operation shall be
conducted on any highway of the State of California unless a certificate of insurance, certificate of self-
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insurance coverage, bond, or the other securities or agreements of indemnity hereinabove specified, shall
be in effect and on file with the Commission.
Approved and dated at San Francisco, California, this 18th day of August, 2016.

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

By TIMOTHY J. SULLIVAN
Executive Director
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