A.12-01-016 Communications Division Date of Issuance July 9,
2012

Decision 12-07-002

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Application of Lit San Leandro, LCC for Registration Application 12-01-016
as an Interexchange Carrier Telephone Corporation (Filed January 31, 2012)
pursuant to the provisions of Public Utilities Code

Section 1013.

DECISION GRANTING LIT SAN LEANDRO, LLC
A REGISTRATION LICENSE

Lit San Leandro, LLC, a California limited liability company, filed an application
as a non-dominant interexchange carrier on January 31, 2012, for a registration license to
provide voice and data telecommunications service as a facilities-based carrier in
California. This application was filed pursuant to the registration process adopted in
Decision (D.) 97-06-107, as modified by D.10-09-017 and D.11-09-026. The applicant was
qualified to use the registration process, and demonstrated compliance with the filing
requirements for a registration license application, namely:

1. The applicant provided a Certificate of Qualification as a California Corporation
from the California Secretary of State.

2. The applicant attested “true” to Questions 8 and 9 of the Application for
Registration License regarding fitness requirements of each officer, director,
partner, and/or owner.

3. The applicant demonstrated a minimum of $100,000 in assets as a facilities-based
carrier.

4. Applicant demonstrated the required expertise to operate as a facilities-based
carrier.

5. The applicant stated in its application that it will not be constructing any new
facilities to provide services for which it seeks authority. Thus, it can be seen that
there is no possibility that granting this application will have an adverse impact

on the environment. Before it can construct new facilities, Lit San Leandro must
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tile for additional authority, and submit to any necessary California
Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) review.
6. The applicant was eligible for and requested an exemption from tariffing

requirements. Applicant also agreed to observe the consumer protection rules

adopted in D. 98-08-031.

No protests to the application were filed. Therefore, pursuant to the authority
granted to the Executive Director by D.97-08-050, the applicant should be granted a
registration license to provide this service.

This is an uncontested matter in which the decision grants the relief requested.
Accordingly, pursuant to Public Utilities Code Section 311(g)(2) and Rule 14.6(c)(2) of
the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, the otherwise applicable 30-day

period for public review and comment is being waived.

Findings of Fact

1. The application was filed on January 31, 2012, and appeared in the Commission’s
Daily Calendar on February 3, 2012.

2. The application complied with the requirements of the registration process
adopted in D.97-06-017 as modified by D.10-09-017 and D.11-09-026.

3. No timely protests to the application were filed.

4. Since the applicant will not be constructing new facilities, there is no possibility
that granting this application will have an adverse impact on the environment. Before it
can construct new facilities, Lit San Leandro must file for additional authority, and
submit to any necessary California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) review

5. The applicant was eligible for and requested an exemption from tariffing
requirements. Applicant also agreed to observe the consumer protection rules adopted

in D. 98-08-031.
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Conclusions of Law

1. The Executive Director is authorized to sign, on behalf of the Commission,
orders granting a registration license to non-dominant interexchange carriers that are
qualified to use the registration process adopted in D.97-06-107, as modified by D10-09-
017 and D.11-09-026, and which successfully complete the process.

2. Applicant has the financial ability to provide the proposed service.

3. Applicant demonstrated the required expertise to operate as a facilities-based

carrier.

4. Applicant, once granted a registration license, should be subject to the applicable
Commission rules, decisions, General Orders, and statutes that pertain to California’s
public utilities.

5. Applicant should submit an Information-Only advice letter filing to the Director
of Communications Division containing a copy of its revised executed performance
bond addressing the non-payment of taxes or fees or both in addition to the categories
of fines, penalties and restitution related to enforcement actions, as previously
approved.

6. Applicant should be granted an exemption from the requirement to file tariffs.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that:

1. A registration license is granted to Lit San Leandro, LLC to operate as a facilities-
based carrier to provide voice and data telecommunications service in California to the
extent authorized by Decision 94-09-065, subject to the conditions set forth in the
attached appendices. Applicant is assigned corporate identification number U-7234-C
which shall be included in the caption of all filings made with this Commission.

2. Applicant is exempt from the requirement to file tariffs subject to the conditions
set forth in the attached appendices.

3. Application 12-01-016 is closed.
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This order is effective today.

Dated July 6, 2012 , at San Francisco, California.

/s/ Paul Clanon

PAUL CLANON
Executive Director
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Appendix A

NON-DOMINANT INTEREXCHANGE CARRIER REGISTRATION

1. If you requested confidential treatment of the financial portions of your
application, it was granted and those materials will remain under seal for one year from
the date of the decision. If you wish to continue the seal on those materials beyond the
one-year period, you must make a formal request no later than thirty days prior to the
expiration of the year explaining the reasons why you believe such extension is
necessary.

2. You are subject to the following fees, and you must remit them regularly. Per the
instructions in Decision (D.) 00-10-028, carriers must report surcharges, even if the
amount due is $0.

a. The current 1.15% surcharge applicable to all intrastate services
except for those excluded by Decision (D.) 94-09-065, as modified
by D.95-02-050, to fund the Universal Lifeline Telephone Service
(Public Utilities (PU) Code § 879; Resolution T-17071, effective
April 1, 2007);

b. The current 0.20% surcharge applicable to all intrastate
services except for those excluded by D.94-09-065, as modified
by D.95-02-050, to fund the California Relay Service and
Communications Devices Fund (PU Code § 2881; Resolution
T-17127 effective January 1, 2008);

c. The user fee provided in PU Code §§ 431-435, which is 0.18% of
gross intrastate revenue for the 2007-2008 fiscal year (Resolution
M-4819); the minimum annual user fee for registration license
holders is $100;

d. The current 0.40% surcharge applicable to all intrastate services
except for those excluded by D.94-09-065, as modified by
D.95-02-050, to fund the California High Cost Fund-A (PU Code §
739.30; D.96-10-066, pp. 3-4, App. B, Rule 1.C; set by Resolution
T-17357, etfective July 1, 2012);

e. The current 0.30% surcharge applicable to all intrastate services
except for those excluded by D.94-09-065, as modified by
D.95-02-050, to fund the California High Cost Fund-B (D.96-10-066,
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Appendix A

p- 191, App. B, Rule 6.F.; D.07-12-054) ; Resolution T-17311 effective
May 1, 2011;

f. The current 0.14% surcharge applicable to all intrastate services
except for those excluded by D.94-09-065, as modified by
D.95-02-050, to fund the California Advances Services Fund (D.07-
12-054) ; Resolution T-17343 effective November 1, 2011;

g. The current 0.079% surcharge applicable to all intrastate services
except for those excluded by D.94-09-065, as modified by
D.95-02-050, to fund the California Teleconnect Fund (set by
Resolution T-17142, effective June 1, 2008).

These fees change periodically. In compliance with Resolution T-16901,
December 2, 2004, you should check the joint tariff for surcharges and fees
tiled by Pacific Bell (dba AT&T California) and apply the current
surcharge and fee amounts in that joint tariff on your end user bills until
further revised.

You must report and remit CPUC telephone program surcharges online using
the CPUC Telecommunications and User Fees Filing System (TUFEFS).
Information and instructions for online reporting and payment of surcharges are
available at
http:/ /www.cpuc.ca.gov/PUC/Telco/Information+for+providing+service/Sur
charge+Remittance.htm

To request a user ID and password for TUFFS online filing and for
questions, please email telco_surcharge@cpuc.ca.gov.”

You must file and pay the PUC User Fee (see above item 2c) upon receiving the
User Fee statement sent by the Commission. User Fees cannot be reported or
paid online. Instructions for reporting and filing are available at

http:/ /www.cpuc.ca.gov/PUC/Telco/ Consumer+Information/userfee.htm.
You can call (415) 703-2470 for inquiries relative to User Fee reporting and
payment.

3. You are exempt from Rule 3.1(b) of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and
Procedure.

4. You are exempt from PU Code §§ 816-830.

5. You are exempt from PU Code § 851 when the transfer or encumbrance serves to

secure debt.
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6.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

Appendix A

You shall file a written acceptance of the license granted in this proceeding with
the Director of the Communications Division.

Prior to initiating service, you shall provide the Manager of the Commission’s
Consumer Affairs Branch with your designated contact person(s) for purposes of
resolving consumer complaints and the corresponding telephone number(s).
This information shall be updated if the name or telephone number changes, or
at least annually.

You shall notify the Director of the Communications Division in writing of the
date interLATA service is first rendered to the public within five days after
service begins and again within five days of when intraLATA service begins.
You shall keep your books and records in accordance with the Generally
Accepted Accounting Principles.

In the event your books and records are required for inspection by the
Commission or its staff, you shall either produce such records at the
Commission’s offices or reimburse the Commission for the reasonable costs
incurred in having Commission staff travel to your office.

You shall file an annual report with the Director of the Communications
Division, in compliance with GO 104-A, on a calendar-year basis, using the
information request form developed by Commission staff and contained in
Appendix B. You shall file an annual affiliate transaction report with the
Director of the Communications Division, in compliance with D.93-02-019, on a
calendar year basis, using the form developed by the Commission staff and
contained in Appendix C.

You shall ensure that your employees comply with the provisions of Public

Utilities (Pub. Util.) Code § 2889.5 regarding solicitation of customers.
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

Appendix A

The license granted and the authority to render service under the rates, charges,
and rules authorized will expire if not exercised within 12 months after the
effective date of this order.

Pub. Util. Code 708 requires public utilities to provide ID badges to all
employees with a format specified in that Section, and employees to present that
badge when they request entry to customer or subscriber premises. You shall
send a letter to the Director of the Communications Division within 60 days of
the effective date of this order declaring that you have issued the required
badges.

If you are 90 days or more late in filing an annual report or in remitting the fees
listed above, Communications Division shall prepare for Commission
consideration a resolution that revokes your license, unless you have received
the written permission of Communications Division to file or remit late.

You have requested an exemption from the requirement to file tariffs and have
represented to the Commission that you are qualified for such an exemption.

Beginning December 6, 2004, you must abide by the Consumer Protection Rules

contained in General Order 168.

If your company is planning to discontinue service or to file for bankruptcy, you
are required to contact the Director of the Communications Division
immediately. Please ask us for instructions in your particular circumstances; our
rules are designed to ensure that your telecommunications customers receive
adequate notice and are minimally inconvenienced. Your compliance is
necessary so that you are not penalized for failure to follow Commission rules.
Registration license holders are subject to the performance bond reporting
requirements specified in Ordering Paragraphs 4 to 9 of Decision 10-09-017 in
Rulemaking 09-07-009.
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Appendix A

(END OF APPENDIX A)
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Appendix B

TO: ALL INTEREXCHANGE TELEPHONE UTILITIES

Article 5 of the Public Utilities Code grants authority to the California Public Utilities
Commission to require all public utilities doing business in California to file reports as
specified by the Commission on the utilities” California operations.

A specific annual report form has not yet been prescribed for the California
interexchange telephone utilities. However, you are hereby directed to submit an
original hardcopy and a machine readable electronic copy using Microsoft Word or
compatible format of the information requested in Attachment B pages 2 and 3 no later
than March 31" of the year following the calendar year for which the annual report is
submitted.

Address your report to:
Director, Communications Division
California Public Utilities Commission

505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102-3298

Failure to file this information on time may result in a penalty as provided for in §§ 2107
and 2108 of the Public Utilities Code.

If you have any question concerning this matter, please call (415) 703-2883.
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Appendix B
Information Requested of California Interexchange Telephone Utilities.

To be filed with the Director, Communications Division, California Public Utilities
Commission, 505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 3107, San Francisco, CA 94102-3298, no later
than March 31st of the year following the calendar year for which the annual report is
submitted.

1. Exactlegal name and U # of reporting utility.
2. Address.

3. Name, title, address, and telephone number of the person to be contacted
concerning the reported information.

4. Name and title of the officer having custody of the general books of account
and the address of the office where such books are kept.

5. Type of organization (e.g., corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, etc.).
If incorporated, specify:
a. Date of filing articles of incorporation with the Secretary of State.
b. State in which incorporated.

6. Commission decision number granting operating authority and the date of
that decision.

7. Date operations were begun.
8. Description of other business activities in which the utility is engaged.

9. Alist of all affiliated companies and their relationship to the utility. State if
affiliate is a:

a. Regulated public utility.

b. Publicly held corporation.

B-2



A.12-01-016 Communications Division

Appendix B

10. Balance sheet as of December 31st of the year for which information is
submitted.

Income statement for California operations for the calendar year for which
information is submitted.

(END OF APPENDIX B)
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Appendix C

CALENDAR YEAR AFFILIATE TRANSACTION REPORT

1. Each utility shall list and provide the following information for each affiliated entity
and regulated subsidiary that the utility had during the period covered by the
annual Affiliate Transaction report.

e Form of organization (e.g., corporation, partnership, joint venture, strategic
alliance, etc.);

e Brief description of business activities engaged in;

e Relationship to the utility (e.g., controlling corporation, subsidiary, regulated
subsidiary, affiliate);

e Ownership of the utility (including type and percent ownership);
e Corporate officers.

2. The utility shall prepare and submit a corporate organization chart showing any
and all corporate relationships between the utility and its affiliated entities and
regulated subsidiaries listed in #1 above. The chart should have the controlling
corporation (if any) at the top of the chart; the utility and any subsidiaries and/or
affiliates of the controlling corporation in the middle levels of the chart and all
secondary subsidiaries and affiliates (e.g., a subsidiary that in turn is owned by
another subsidiary and/or affiliate in the lower levels. Any regulated subsidiary
should be clearly noted.

3. For a utility that has entities that are classified as “controlling corporations” of the
competitive utility, the utility must only report under the requirements of #1 and #2
above any affiliated entity that either (a) is a public utility or (b) transacts any
business with the utility filing the annual report excluding the provision of tariffed
services.

4. Each annual report must be signed by a corporate officer of the utility stating under
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California (CCP 2015.5) that the
annual report is complete and accurate with no material omissions.

5. Any required material that a utility is unable to provide must be reasonably
described and the reasons the data cannot be obtained, as well as the efforts
expended to obtain the information, must be set forth in the utility’s annual Affiliate
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Appendix B

Transaction Report and verified in accordance with Section 1-F of Decision 93-02-
019.

6. Utilities that do not have affiliated entities must file, in lieu of the annual
transaction report, an annual statement to the Commission stating the utility had no
affiliated entities during the report period. This statement must be signed by a
corporate officer of the utility stating under penalty of perjury under the laws of the
State of California (CCP 2015.5) that the annual report is complete and accurate
with no material omissions.

(END OF APPENDIX C)
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