
411693 - 1 - 

MP1/jt2  1/15/2010   
   
 
BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 
Order Instituting Rulemaking Regarding Policies, 
Procedures and Rules for the California Solar 
Initiative, the Self-Generation Incentive Program 
and Other Distributed Generation Issues. 
 

 
Rulemaking 08-03-008 
(Filed March 13, 2008) 

 
 

ASSIGNED COMMISSIONER’S RULING DIRECTING ELECTRIC UTILITIES 
TO FILE APPLICATIONS PROPOSING A NET SURPLUS COMPENSATION 

RATE PURSUANT TO ASSEMBLY BILL 920  
 

1. Summary 
Assembly Bill (AB) 920 (Huffman) Stats. 2009, ch. 376, requires the 

Commission to establish a Net Surplus Compensation Program to compensate 

net energy metering (NEM) customers for electricity produced in excess of 

on-site load at the end of each 12-month period.  This Assigned Commissioner 

Ruling (ACR) directs the Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E), Southern 

California Edison Company (SCE), and San Diego Gas and Electric Company 

(SDG&E), to file applications no later than March 1, 2010, proposing a Net 

Surplus Compensation rate, as well as other program implementation details 

pursuant to AB 920, as set forth in this ruling.   The Commission encourages the 

filing of joint applications.  Other electric utilities operating in California and 

subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction may file applications as directed in this 

ruling, but are not required to do so.  If such electric utilities do not file an 

application to establish a Net Surplus Compensation rate, the Commission may 

apply the rate it adopts for PG&E, SCE, and/or SDG&E, to those electric utilities, 

after appropriate notice and opportunity for comment by those utilities. 
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2. Background of AB 920 
Under Public Utilities Code Section 2827, each electric utility is required to 

offer NEM tariffs to certain customer generators who own and operate 

distributed generation systems.  Under these tariffs and prior to the passage of 

AB 920, customer generators with excess generation in any given month receive a 

bill credit at the full retail rate of electricity.  Customer generators can use the bill 

credits any time during a 12 month period, known as the “true-up period.”  

However, at the end of the 12-month true-up period, any remaining bill credits 

are forfeited to the utility. 

AB 920, signed into law by the governor on October 11, 2009, requires the 

Commission to establish a program to compensate NEM customers for electricity 

produced in excess of on-site load at the end of the 12-month true-up period.  

Specifically, the law directs the Commission to adopt a Net Surplus 

Compensation valuation to compensate a net surplus customer-generator for 

surplus kilowatt-hours over 12 months. The law requires all electric utilities to 

notify customers that they have the option to be compensated for net surplus 

generation.  Customers may opt to receive either a payment for net surplus 

generation or to roll a credit for that generation over into the next 12-month 

true-up period.  

AB 920 amends Pub. Util. Code § 2827 in several ways.  First, the law 

establishes definitions as follows: 

• Net surplus customer-generator—a customer that generates more 
electricity in a 12-month period than is supplied by the electric 
utility during the same 12- month period.  (Section 2827(b)(6).) 

• Net surplus electricity – electricity generated by the customer-
generator measured in kilowatt-hours over a 12-month period 
that exceeds the amount of electricity consumed by the customer-
generator.  (Section 2827(b)(7).) 
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• Net surplus electricity compensation – a per kilowatt-hour rate, 
set by the Commission, and offered by the electric utility to the 
net surplus customer-generator for net surplus electricity.  
(Section 2827(b)(8).) 

Next, AB 920 requires all electric utilities in the state to notify eligible 

customer-generators by January 31, 2010, that they are eligible to receive net 

surplus electricity compensation. (Section 2827(h)(3).)  The 12-month period over 

which the net surplus is calculated begins when the utility receives the 

customer’s election to receive compensation.  (Section 2827(h)(4).)  This 12-month 

period is likely to be different than the customer’s current NEM true-up period. 

The law states that customers shall be allowed to choose between either 

(1) compensation at the end of each 12-month period, or (2) a credit for excess 

kilowatt-hours that can be rolled over into the next 12-month period.  AB 920 

specifies that customers not notifying the utility of a desire to receive 

compensation or a credit roll-over shall not be owed any compensation for 

surplus kilowatt-hours and the utility shall retain any excess kilowatt hours 

generated during the period 12-month period.  (Section 2827(h)(3).) 

AB 920 then requires the Commission to establish by January 1, 2011 a 

Net Surplus Compensation valuation to compensate the net surplus customer-

generator for the value of net surplus electricity.  The law states that the 

Commission shall establish the valuation in a public ratemaking proceeding.  

In addition, AB 920 requires the Commission to establish a rate for net surplus 

electricity that is just and reasonable for the customer-generator but that leaves 

other customers unaffected.  Specifically, the Commission is prohibited from 

setting a rate that shifts costs between solar customer-generators and other 

bundled service customers.  (Section 2827(h)(4)(A-B).) 
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In setting the Net Surplus Compensation rate, the law, in Section 

2827(h)(4)(A), requires the Commission to determine whether the compensation 

rate will include either or both of the following components: 

(i)  The value of the electricity itself; and 

(ii) The value of the renewable attributes of the electricity. 

Finally, AB 920 specifies that the utility shall retain all renewable energy 

credits (RECs) associated with net surplus electricity purchased from customer-

generators, and the electricity shall count towards each utility’s renewable 

portfolio standard (RPS) annual procurement targets.  Moreover, any REC 

associated with surplus electricity purchased by the electric utility shall belong to 

the utility, and any REC associated with electricity generated and used by the 

customer-generator, shall remain the property of the customer-generator.  

(Section 2827(h)(5)(A-B).) 

The law does not modify the part of the pre-existing statute that allows 

customers to continue to receive monthly bill credits at the full retail rate, and 

use those credits throughout the year.  The law does not specify how to reconcile 

situations where a customer has excess bill credits but not excess kilowatt hours, 

or vice versa, at the end of the 12-month true-up period 

3. Utilities Net Surplus Compensation Applications 
The primary concern of this ACR is the establishment by January 1, 2011 of 

a net surplus electricity compensation valuation to compensate the net surplus 

customer-generator for the value of net surplus electricity.  To fulfill this 

requirement, I direct PG&E, SCE, and SDG&E to file applications, separately or 

jointly, with the Commission no later than March 1, 2010.  The Commission 

encourages the filing of joint applications.  The application(s) should propose a 

Net Surplus Compensation rate and should include the work papers and 
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methodology used to calculate this proposed rate. The application(s) should also 

include a sample tariff sheet applying to the new rate or a standard contract for 

purchase by the utility of net surplus generation from the net surplus customer-

generator. 

Small and multi-jurisdictional investor-owned electric utilities operating in 

California may also file applications to establish a Net Surplus Compensation 

rate, but are not required to do so.  If such utilities opt to not file an application, 

the Commission may apply the Net Surplus Compensation Rate adopted for 

PG&E, SCE and/or SDG&E to their operations, after appropriate notice and 

opportunity for comment by these small and multi-jurisdictional electric utilities. 

In presenting the Net Surplus Electricity Compensation rate, the 

application(s) should describe whether the proposed rate includes:  (1) the value 

of the electricity, and (2) the renewable attributes of the electricity.  If the Net 

Surplus Compensation rate includes either of those components, the 

application(s) and work papers should describe the method used to calculate the 

value of those components.  Finally, the application(s) and workpapers should 

indicate how the proposed Net Surplus Compensation rate complies with the 

requirement in AB 920 that all other customers are held indifferent. 

4. Additional Application Requirements 
In addition to the proposed rate, workpapers, and proposed tariff or 

standard contract, the application(s) should address the following questions 

regarding the proposed net surplus compensation rate. 

(1) How will Net Surplus Compensation rate be determined?  Options 
include payment of the full retail rate, the generation-only rate, the 
most current RPS Market Price Referent rate adjusted for time-of-
delivery, an up-front avoided cost calculation, simple payout of 
customer bill credits, or some other method of valuation.  For 
whatever rate is chosen, please discuss why the other rate options 
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discussed above were not selected as the preferred method of 
compensation.  

(2) Will the rate be fixed as of the online date of the generation (similar 
to RPS contracting) or change over time (along with other rates)? 

(3) How will the rate offered for Net Surplus Compensation interact 
with the rate offered for net generation on a monthly basis (i.e., the 
full retail rate)? 

(4) How will all non-participating customers be held indifferent to the 
Net Surplus Compensation rate of payment? 

(5) If the Customer will be receiving Net Surplus Compensation based 
on a generation-only rate, will a customer receive the generation 
rate applicable at the time the excess generation was generated, or 
the generation rate in effect at the time of the 12 month 
assessment? 

(6) Should the administrative cost of calculating Net Surplus 
Compensation and applying it to customer-generators’ bills be 
considered when calculating a rate, to avoid shifting costs between 
customer-generators and other bundled service customers?  

(7) Is it possible to simply pay eligible customer generators the 
amount they have in surplus bill credits at the end of the true-up 
period? 

In addition to the items listed above, the utilities should also 

propose answers to the following policy questions related to AB 920: 

(1) Will the new tariff created by AB 920 replace the customer’s 
existing NEM tariff, or would it coexist alongside that tariff?  Will 
some customers remain on basic NEM, and others opt into Net 
Surplus Compensation NEM?  Will customers on the new tariff be 
compensated monthly for their monthly bill credits at the full retail 
rate? 

(2) Is it possible that a customer could use all the bill credits created 
by surplus generation over a 12-month period and still have 
surplus kilowatt-hours?  Should the Net Surplus Compensation 
Program restrict a customer’s ability to receive and consume full-
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retail bill credits on a monthly basis and receive payment for 
surplus kilowatt-hours? 

(3) Will customers be allowed to switch from the compensation option 
to the rollover option or vice versa, and if so, at what point will 
switching be allowed?  

(4) Will surplus electricity be rolled over in the form of bill credits or 
kilowatt-hours? 

 a) Will customers be compensated when they have surplus 
bill credits but not surplus kilowatt-hours? 

 b) Will customers be compensated when they have surplus 
kilowatt-hours but not surplus bill credits?  

(5) In order to qualify for RPS compliance, a generator must be 
certified as eligible by the California Energy Commission (CEC), 
and the REC must be recorded in the Western Renewable Energy 
Generation Information System (WREGIS), which requires the 
meter measuring the generation to have accuracy of +/- 2%.  
Currently, the CEC has not certified distributed generation 
systems as eligible for RPS compliance and many systems on net 
metering tariffs do not have meters that meet the WREGIS 
accuracy requirements.  Are CEC certification and WREGIS meter 
accuracy requirements necessary preconditions in order for the 
utilities to count towards the RPS annual procurement targets the 
RECs associated with net surplus electricity purchased from 
eligible customer-generators (as per Section 2827(h)(5)(A-B))?  
Assuming these are necessary preconditions, and if a net surplus 
customer-generator has equipment that complies with CEC and 
WREGIS standards: 

 a) Will the REC belong to the utility if the customer chooses 
the roll-over option, where a credit for net surplus 
generation is rolled over into the next 12-month true-up 
period, or only if the customer chooses a payment for net 
surplus generation? 

 b) Will the REC belong to the utility for any net surplus 
generation if the customer does not elect either option? 
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(6) Will customers be permitted to roll excess kilowatt-hours over into 
subsequent 12-month periods indefinitely, or will the excess 
kilowatt-hours “expire” after a certain period of time? 

(7) Will the utility be required to cut a physical check to every 
customer that opts for Net Surplus Compensation, even if the 
amount owed would be below a de minimus threshold (for 
instance, if the customer is owed $1.00)?  If not, how should the 
de minimus threshold be determined? 

(8) Given the potential new layer of complexity that Net Surplus 
Compensation may add to the existing NEM program, how will 
the utility communicate the NEM-related rate and program 
offerings to customers and how will it communicate the financial 
implications of the new Net Surplus Compensation program?  Will 
customers be able to “look up” what rate is being offered to them?  
If the rate is the generation-only rate, how will customers be 
notified if and when that rate changes, as it may multiple times 
throughout the year? 

5. Customer Notification 
AB 920 requires the electric utilities to notify their customer-generators by 

January 31, 2010 that they are eligible to receive net surplus electricity 

compensation.  If all Commission-jurisdictional electric utilities have not already 

performed this notification, they should do so by the statutory deadline.  The 

utilities may find it useful to cite this ruling and its requirement that electric 

utilities file application(s) to propose a net surplus compensation rate. 

Therefore, IT IS RULED that: 

1.  Pacific Gas and Electric Company, Southern California Edison Company, 

and San Diego Gas & Electric Company, shall file applications, separately or 

jointly, no later than March 1, 2010 proposing a Net Surplus Compensation rate 

pursuant to Assembly Bill 920, and they shall provide notice of these applications 

on all persons and entities served with this ruling, the service list for 

Rulemaking 08-08-009 (the RPS Administration Proceeding), as well as all 
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customer-generators who received the notification described in Section 5 of this 

ruling.  The application(s) shall include the workpapers and methodology used 

to calculate this proposed rate, and a sample tariff sheet applying to the 

proposed rate or a proposed standard contract for purchase by the utility of net 

surplus generation from the net surplus customer-generator. 

2. Small and multi-jurisdictional investor-owned electric utilities operating in 

California may file applications to establish a Net Surplus Compensation rate as 

set forth in this ruling, but are not required to do so.  If such utilities opt not to 

file an application, the Commission may apply the Net Surplus Compensation 

Rate adopted for Pacific Gas and Electric Company, Southern California Edison 

Company and/or San Diego Gas & Electric Company, to their operations, after 

appropriate notice and opportunity for comment by these small and multi-

jurisdictional electric utilities. 

3. In their application(s), Pacific Gas and Electric Company, Southern 

California Edison Company, and San Diego Gas & Electric Company, should 

describe whether the proposed Net Surplus Compensation rate includes the 

value of the electricity and the renewable attributes of the electricity.  If the Net 

Surplus Compensation rate includes either of those components, the application 

and workpapers should describe the method used to calculate the value of those 

components.  

4. In their application(s), Pacific Gas and Electric Company, Southern 

California Edison Company, and San Diego Gas & Electric Company, should 

address the questions posed in Section 4 of this ruling. 

5. All Commission-jurisdictional electric utilities subject to Assembly Bill 

(AB) 920 shall perform the customer notification required by AB 920 by 

January 31, 2010. 
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6. The Commission’s Process Office shall ensure this ruling is served on 

PacifiCorp, NV Energy, Inc., Bear Valley Electric Service, and Mountain 

Utilities, Inc. 

Dated January 15, 2010, at San Francisco, California. 

 
 
  /s/ MICHAEL R. PEEVEY  

  Michael R. Peevey  
Assigned Commissioner 
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INFORMATION REGARDING SERVICE 

 
I have provided notification of filing to the electronic mail addresses on the 

attached service list. 

Upon confirmation of this document’s acceptance for filing, I will cause a 

Notice of Availability of the filed document to be served upon the service list to 

this proceeding by U.S. mail.  The service list I will use to serve the Notice of 

Availability of the filed document is current as of today’s date. 

Dated January 15, 2010, at San Francisco, California. 

 
 
 

/s/ JOYCE TOM  
Joyce Tom  

 
 

N O T I C E  
 

Parties should notify the Process Office, Public Utilities Commission, 
505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2000, San Francisco, CA  94102, of any 
change of address to ensure that they continue to receive documents. 
You must indicate the proceeding number on the service list on which 
your name appears. 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 
The Commission’s policy is to schedule hearings (meetings, workshops, 
etc.) in locations that are accessible to people with disabilities.  To verify 
that a particular location is accessible, call: Calendar Clerk (415) 
703-1203. 
 
If specialized accommodations for the disabled are needed, e.g., sign 
language interpreters, those making the arrangements must call the 
Public Advisor at (415) 703-2074 or TDD# (415) 703-2032 five working 
days in advance of the event. 


