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A--PURPOSE AND SCOPE 
 
1.  The purpose of this standard practice is to provide guidance to utilities and Water Division staff 
on the collection and processing of various fees a utility is allowed or required to charge its 
customers.   
 
2.  Fees and charges are used for various purposes.   
 

a. User fees for water and sewer system utilities were approved by the legislature in 
1982.  The Commission calculated the initial fee and imposed it by Commission 
resolution M-4722, November 24, 1982 to be effective January 1, 1983.  In 1983 
the legislature extended this funding source to all regulated utilities, effective on 
July 1, 1983.  Sections 401 through 410 and Section 431 of the Public Utilities 
Code describe this fee.  The purpose of this fee was to remove the Commission 
from general fund funding.   

b. Late Payment Charges are imposed on customers who are late in paying their 
bills.  The purpose is to change behavior and induce more timely payment1.  
Yermo Water Company (Yermo) was the first water utility to receive authority 
from the Commission to charge a late fee of  $5.00 on delinquent bills in 19932.  
This provision was instituted as part of its general rate case due to significant 
delinquent payment problems for Yermo.  In 1996, Cobb Mountain Water 
Company (CMWC), with 17% of accounts delinquent, declined a staff proposed 
$5.00 late charge in favor of a pilot study for late charges of 1.5% of the overdue 
bill with a minimum charge of $1.003.  This was due to the unique nature of the 
rate structure of CMWC, which serves a resort area with few year-round residents.  
After a one-year pilot study, CMWC determined that the late fee was effective in 
reducing delinquent payments and the late charge was made permanent4.  Later, 
Havasu Water Company received the same treatment5.  Other water utilities 

                                                           
1 Resolution number 11, March 22, 1935, of the Railroad Commission of the State of California authorized Sierra 
Water Service Company to offer a discount of fifty cents to customers who paid their bill by the 20th of the month. 
2 Resolution W-3812, November 23, 1993, Finding 10. 
3 Resolution W-3875, November 7, 1994 
4 Advice letter 23, June 18, 1996, effective June 24, 1996 
5 Resolution W-3940, September 7, 1995 



95178 
  

criticized this late fee structure because it only addressed the carrying cost of late 
payments and not the additional costs incurred.   They pointed out that these costs 
would be paid by other customers of the water company.  Also the 1.5% late 
charge with a minimum of $1.00 effectively put in a $1.00 late charge since the 
water bill would have to exceed $66.67 for the $1.00 minimum charge to be 
exceeded.  At the California Water Association meeting in October, 1996, the 
small water utilities specifically requested a different late charge and cited the 
additional costs involved in justifying a different late charge.  The Branch 
requested some cost studies for the late charge, and, on January 27, 1997, 
Ponderosa Water Company (PWC) sent cost calculations for additional costs due 
to late payments for staff review.  PWC’s calculations justified a $5.00 late 
charge.  The costs incurred were typical of the costs incurred by a small water 
utility for labor and materials involved notification and collection of the 
delinquent account and the charge was approved by Resolution W-4035, April 9, 
1997.    

c. Returned Check Charge.  Resolution W-2638, May 20, 1980, revised Rule 9 to 
establish a $5.00 charge for bad checks or electronic fund transfer procedures not 
honored.  At that time, the Commission found that the additional cost to the utility 
for processing returned checks varied and the $5.00 charge was in the mid range.  
Since that time banks fees increased, writing a bad check was made illegal6, and 
the costs of processing and collection increased.  The $5.00 charge was no longer 
sufficient to cover the costs. At the California Water Association meeting in 1997, 
many water utilities requested a higher returned check charge and cited increased 
charges by banks and the additional costs involved in reversing bookkeeping 
entries, collecting the check and reentering the amount.  Part of the higher cost 
was due to the practice of customers paying with a bad check to avoid the 
disconnection of water service for non-payment or to avoid the charge for 
reconnection.  In its letter of January 24, 1997 PWC sent cost calculations for 
additional costs due to processing and collecting which justified a $20.00 returned 
check charge as representative of the costs incurred by a small water utility.  
Resolution W-4035, April 9, 1997, allowed all Class C and D water utilities to file 
to assess this charge. 

d. Reconnection charges (see Tariff Rule 11) represent the cost to the utility of 
performing disconnection and reconnection and keep other ratepayers from paying 
costs caused by one customer.  Rule 11 allows water utilities to charge for 
reconnecting water service that has been disconnected due to non-payment or 
violation of rules.  General Order 103 states that utilities may charge $10.00 for 
reconnection of service during regular working hours and $15.00 for reconnection 
of service at other than regular working hours when the customer has requested 
that the reconnection be made at other than regular working hours.  This fee has 
been in effect for a long time while labor and processing costs have increased. 
Class A and B water utilities have justified and established higher reconnection 
charges in conjunction with general rate cases; however, small utilities do not 

                                                           
6 Under California Civil Code, Chapter 522, Section 1719, the maker of a bad check may be liable for three times the 
amount of the check or $100.00, whichever is greater, plus the face value of the check and court costs. 
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have general race case proceedings as often and do not have the time or resources 
to devote to calculation of costs of reconnection.  At the California Water 
Association meeting, small water utilities requested a higher reconnection charge 
and cited increased costs as justification.  PWC provided a cost basis for a charge 
of  $25.00 during regular working hours and for $40.00 for other than regular 
working hours.  The Water Division found that these costs were representative of 
those for small utilities.  Because the majority of these costs are associated with 
the travel and preparation for disconnection, not the disconnection itself, the 
division recommended that the charge be levied even when the customer attempts 
to pay the overdue bill at the time the disconnection is being attempted. 

e. Deposits may be required of new customers, until those customers have established 
credit with the utility.   

f. Facilities fees were originally approved for smaller water companies and smaller 
districts of large water companies by Decision (D.) 91-04-068, April 24, 1991, 
which stated (Ordering Paragraph 2):  
 

 “2.  A Class C or Class D utility, or a Class A or Class B utility 
district or subsidiary serving 2,000 or fewer connections, may accept 
from individual customers amounts in contribution as a facilities fee 
pursuant to tariffs approved by the Commission.”   

 
This order was supplemented by a settlement adopted by D. 93-11-066, November 
23, 1993, which required all monies collected to be kept in a separate bank account 
and used only for infrastructure replacement.  The settlement also proclaimed that 
(Section II. A. 1):   
 

“The Stipulating Parties agree that small water companies may 
submit requests to Water Branch for establishment of facilities fees 
as authorized by D. 91-04-068, so long as such facilities fees are 
based on a need for additional operating facilities resulting from 
actual or projected customer growth.  Such requests shall be 
supported by either a formula method which reflects actual or 
projected customer growth or by a method utilizing customer growth 
projection and estimates of need additional operating facilities and 
the costs thereof which are related to such projections.” 

 
On September 3, 1998 the Commission approved resolution No. W-4110 which 
allowed Sierra City Water Works, Inc. and all other Class D water utilities to file to 
charge facilities fees to fund replacement of plant.  It established generic tariffs for 
facilities fees ranging from $2,000 for 5/8 inch by ¾ inch metered water customers 
to $16,000 for customers requiring a 2 inch meter (see Appendix A). 
 
g.  Connection charges allow a utility to recover the actual cost of hooking a new 
customer into an already existing distribution main.  This fee covers the costs of 
installing new service connections, including service pipe, meter box and meter, and 
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labor.  These fees are subject to gross-up due to their taxability as revenues.  In 
Decision (D.) 90-20-020 in Southern California Water Company’s general rate case 
application (A.) 88-05-021, the Commission authorized the utility to charge a 
connection/facilities fee on an experimental basis in its Desert District.  Because this 
fee was a major deviation to General Order 103, the Commission opened Order 
Instituting Rulemaking (R.) 90-07-004, July 6, 1990.  In the final decision in that 
proceeding (D.91-04-068, April 21, 1991) the Commission adopted a Connection 
fee Data Form (Appendix B) that was to be added to the “Form” section of their 
tariffs by smaller water companies that want to charge the fee.  This form is filled in 
and presented to the customer at the time the customer requests connection.  The 
customer must be told that he or she can complain about the fee to the Commission, 
and that the customer has the option of retaining a qualified contractor to install the 
connection, subject to inspection by the utility. 
h.  Advances and Contributions  (tariff Rule 15) Advance contracts are provided to 
developers  

 
B—PROCEDURE 

 
 3.  User Fees  The Commission determines the amount of the user fee by management resolution.  
The latest management resolution concerning user fees was M-4786, July 16, 1997.  It set the 
charge for water and sewer system utilities at 1.4% of revenues.  Water and sewer system utilities 
pay user fees that are proportional to their gross intrastate revenues7.  Revenues means all money 
collected for the furnishing of utility service, including principal and interest surcharge on loans 
(including Drinking Water State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) and Safe Drinking Water Bond Act 
(SDWBA)8 loans.  This is because the facilities constructed by DWSRF and SDWBA loans would 
have resulted in a return if they had been built by the utility and included in rate base.  That return 
revenue would be subject to user fees, so the loan revenues should be subject to user fees.  It does 
not include utility taxes or other revenues that are passed through to governmental agencies.  This 
fee is usually referred to in the special conditions on the rate schedules and described on a separate 
rate Schedule Number UF. 
 
4.  Late Payment Charge   Late payment charges may be imposed when the customer doesn’t pay 
the bill within 20 days of it being mailed (see Public Utilities Code Section 779.1).  The charge is 
described on a separate schedule LC (see Appendix C).    Normally, the utility allows an amount 
of time in excess of 19 days before the charge is imposed, for example, for monthly billers, if the 
last month’s bill has not been paid by the time the next month’s bill is sent, the charge is imposed 
on the next month’s bill.  Resolution W-4035, April 9, 1997 authorizes Ponderosa Water 
Company and all Class C and D water utilities to charge a late payment charge of $5.00 after they 
file an advice letter and tariff describing the charge (see Appendix D).  These funds should be 
booked as Other Utility Revenues. 
 

                                                           
7 Public Utilities Code Section 432 (c) (4) 
8 Letter from Milton J. DeBarr to Class B, C and D Water Companies, September 5, 1986 
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5.  Returned Check Charge   Resolution W-4035 authorizes Class C and D water utilities to 
charge $20.00 for processing a returned check.  These funds should be booked as Other Utility 
Revenues. 
 
 
6.  Reconnection Charge  Tariff Rule 11 allows water utilities to charge for reconnecting water 
service that has been disconnected due to nonpayment or violation of rules.  Resolution W-4035 
authorizes Class C and D water utilities to file an advice letter to charge a reconnection fee of 
$25.00 during regular working hours and $40.00 for other than regular working hours.  Because 
the majority of these costs are associated with the travel and preparation for reconnection, not the 
reconnection itself, this charge should also be levied even when the customer attempts to pay the 
overdue bill at the time the disconnection is being done, in an attempt to avoid the reconnection 
fee.  Other amounts may be used if justified.  The reconnection charge should be based on an 
analysis of the average time required to perform these functions.  Reconnection charges should 
be booked as other utility revenue. 
 
7.  Facilities fees are available for Class A districts that serve less than 2000 service connections, 
and B and C and D utilities and may be based on any reasonable analysis as developed in the 
GRC9.  Class A water companies have to show that their need for a facilities fee outweighs the 
ratemaking principle that shareholders, rather than ratepayers, should bear the cost of plant 
facilities10.   Eligible utilities may file by advice letter to institute a facilities fee schedule F.  All 
fee collected must me kept in a segregated bank account and credited to contributions in aid of 
construction (CIAC) at the time the fees are spent for additional plant. 
 
8.  The Commission addressed facilities fees for Class D utilities generically in Resolution No. 
W-4110, September 3, 1998, for Sierra City Water Works.  It authorized all Class D water 
utilities to file an advice letter to make effective Schedule F (Appendix A), or to charge lower 
rates based on the same proportional meter size.  Within five days of receipt, the utilities must 
deposit these fees in a separate interest bearing bank account and the bank must inform the PUC 
when monies are deposited.  The funds are to be booked as CIAC. 
 
8.  Deposits  Section 779.5 of the Public utilities code requires that deposits be based solely on 
the credit worthiness of the applicant.  Deposits (see Tariff Rule No. 7) are required when a new 
customer requests service, and are refunded, with interest, after the customer has received twelve 
months of service, if all bills have been paid on time during that time (see Tariff Rule No. 6).  
The standard deposit is two times the average bill for metered customers and one bill for flat rate 
customers.  This is because metered customers are billed after the service has been received and 
flat rate customers are billed prior to the service being received.  
 
                                                           
9 Authority to charge facilities fees was established by Commission Decision (D.)92-03-093, March 31, 1992, 
Ordering Paragraph 10. which ordered workshops within 75 days to discuss, among other items, allowing Class C 
and D utilities to charge facilities fees.  As a result of the workshop, staff issued suggested procedures that required 
the utility to develop a list of expected new facilities' costs and divide by the number of expected new customers.  
This, or any other method, was to be requested during a General Rate Case and adopted individually. 
 
10 39 CPUC2d at 602 
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9.  Plant Replacement Fee.  Resolution W-4035, September 7 2000, allowed Curtis Water 
company, which was being operated by a court-appointed receiver, to collect a monthly plant 
replacement fee of  $14.00 per customer per month to help defray the cost of rebuilding the 
system and aid in the interconnection of the system with an adjacent water utility.  The fees were 
to be deposited within five days in a separate bank account paying interest.  The fees were 
booked as Contributions-in-Aid-of- Construction and the utility was to report in its annual report 
to the Commission, the fees collected, interest, and balance in the account.  Withdrawal of funds 
from the account are subject to approval granted by a further resolution of the Commission and 
Curtis Water Company was authorized to file an advice letter to request such withdrawal.  



 APPENDIX A 
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Schedule F 
 

FACILITIES FEES 
 

APPLICABILITY 
 

Applicable to all customers applying for service from the Utility in the territory served for premises not previously 
connected to its distribution mains, for additional service connections to existing premises, and for increases in size 
of service connections to existing premises due to change in use.   

 
TERRITORY 
 
This schedule is applicable within the entire territory served by the utility.   
 
RATES 
 
Initial Fee for each Service Connection:   
 
  For 5/8 x 3/4-inch meter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$  2,000 
  For          3/4-inch meter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    3,000 
  For             1-inch meter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    5,000 
  For       1 1/2-inch meter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  10,000 
  For             2-inch meter . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  16,000 
 
 
SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
 

1. Facility fees are payable in addition to and do not limit any charges for extensions of mains that may be 
applicable under Rule 15, Main Extensions.   

 
2.  These fees are not subject to the Public Utility Commission Reimbursement Fee surcharge in schedule UF. 
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_______________________________________________________________________  
(Name of Water Company) 

 
Connection Fee Data Form for Service to _____________________________________ 
       (Name of Customer) 
 
_________________________________, __________________. 
  (Address)   (Telephone) 
 

I.   Local Government Permits and Fees 
 

Name of Agency             Name of Fee  Cost 
 
Line 
1 ________________________________ ____________________    $  ______ 

2 ________________________________ ____________________ ______ 

3 ________________________________ ____________________ ______ 

4 ________________________________ ____________________ ______ 

5  Total (Add lines 1 through 4)            $   ______ 

 
II.   Materials 
 
       A.   Service Pipe 

 
6    Type (e.g., copper)  __________________________ 

7    Unit cost = $ _______________ per foot of length 

8    Length of service pipe = _______________ feet 
  (Use typical connection in your service area) 

9    Service 

          Pipe Cost = Unit cost (Line 7) x Length (Line 8) 

          Pipe Cost = $_________ /ft. x _________ ft. =  $ _________ 
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 II.   Materials (continued) 

       B.   Other than Service Pipe 

Line 

10     Saddle tap       $  __________ 

11     Valve (corp stop)          __________ 

12     Valve (meter stop)          __________ 

13     Cast concrete box          __________ 

14     Meter           __________ 

     Other (describe)          __________ 

15         _________________________        __________ 

16         _________________________        __________ 

17    Subtotal (Add Lines 10 through 16)      __________ 

18   Miscellaneous allowance (5% of Line 17)      __________ 

19   Total (Add Lines 17 and 18)  $  __________ 

 

III.   Installation 
 
         A.   Tapping 
 

Labor for tapping main, installing valves, setting meter and meter box 
(not applicable to flat rate service), and all other hardware work 
regardless of the length of service pipe. 

 
Tapping cost = Avg. time for tapping x hourly rate 

 For metered service: 

20     Tapping cost = _______ hr. x $ _______  /hr. =  $ __________ 

   For flat-rate service: 

21     Tapping cost = _______ hr. x $ _______ /hr. = $ __________ 

         B.   Earth Work 

Labor and Equipment for trenching and compaction of backfill. 

22 Length of trench = ____________ feet 
(Use typical connection in your service area) 
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 II1.   Installation (continued) 

          B.   Earth Work (continued) 

 1. Labor 

Cost = Avg time x hourly rate 

Line 

23   Operator cost = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 

24   Laborer cost   = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 

25   ___________ = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 
        (other)       

26   Total Labor (Add Lines 23 through 25)             $_______ 

2. Equipment 

Cost = Avg. time x hourly rate 

27   Backhoe cost     = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 

28   Compactor cost = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 

29   _____________ = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 
        (other)      
30   _____________ = _______ hr. x $ _______/hr. = $_______ 
        (other)      

31   Total Equipment (Add Lines 27 thru 30)        $_______ 

         C.  Pavement replacement (including base) 

32    Pavement type (e.g., asphalt concrete) ______________________ 

33    Unit cost = $_______ /ft. 

34    Length of pavement            = __________ feet 
    (Use typical connection in your service area) 

35    Cost = Unit cost (Line 33) x Avg. Length (Line 34) 

36    Pavement Cost = $ __________ / ft. x ___________ = $ __________ 
                (Line 33)        (Line 34) 

 

IV.    Total Cost of Service Connection 

          Cost  = Local Gov’t Fees + Materials + Installation 

 Local Gov’t Fees + (Service Pipe = Other than Service Pipe) 
 + (Tapping + Labor for Earth Work + Equipment for Earth Work 
 + Pavement Replacement) 



 APPENDIX B 
 

95178 
  

 

 

IV.    Total Cost of Service Connection (continued) 

           Cost = (continued) 

Line 

37          =  ________ + (________ + ________) +  
     (Line 5)        (Line 9)       (Line 19)           

   (_____________ + _________ + _________ + ________) 
     (Line 20 or 21)       (Line 26)       (Line 31)       (Line 36)  

38          = $ ______________ (rounded to nearest $10) 

 V.    Federal Income Tax Gross-up 

          Connection Fee = Total Cost + (Total Cost) x (Tax Rate) 

39 = ________ + (__________) x      15% 
     (Line 38)       (Line 38) 

40 = $ __________ (rounded to nearest $10) 

Notes to Customer: 

You have the right, if you disagree with this estimate, to appeal to the California Public 
Utilities Commission, Water Branch, 505 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94102.  
Please include a copy of this completed form, annotated to show the costs with which you 
disagree. 

You may choose to have this work done at your own expense by a licensed contractor 
subject to inspection by the utility.  The inspection fee for this installation is 
$__________. 
 Signed 
 
 
 
 __________________________ 
 Owner or Utility Representative 
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1. This Connection Fee Data Form is available to Class C and Class D water utilities 
and Class A and Class B utility districts of subsidiaries serving 2,000 or fewer 
connections.  The blank Connection Fee Data Form must be filed in the tariffs of a 
utility seeking to assess a connection fee. 

2. When the Connection Fee Data Form is filed in a utility’s tariffs, the completed 
form showing costs of installation must be presented to all new individual 
customers seeking installation of a connection. 

3. At the time a completed Connection Fee Data Form is presented to a customer, 
the utility must advise the customer, in writing, of the following: 

a. An applicant for a water utility connection who disputes the fees set forth 
by the utility in its Connection Fee Data Form may file a complaint with the 
California Public Utilities Commission, 505 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, 
California  94102-3298 

b. An applicant for a water utility connection may, as an alternative to 
connection by the utility, have the connection performed by a contractor 
deemed qualified by the utility.  Such installation must be done in accordance 
with utility specifications.  Such installation is subject to inspection and 
approval of a utility, at an inspection fee rate of $ _____ per hour.  At 
completion of the installation, applicant must provide the utility with a copy of 
the contractor’s invoice for the installation. 

4. The Total Service Connection Cost (Line 38) represents a typical service 
connection in your service area for one service size.  A separate calculation is 
required for each size. 

5. Separate calculations are required for metered and flat rate service. 

6. It is assumed that if procedures and equipment other than those included above are 
selected for a particular (but typical) installation (e.g., boring rather than trenching), 
it is because it is more economical for that particular installation. There is no need 
for special provisions for such cases. 

7. The utility may request a deviation from its Connection Fees tariff and charge the 
actual cost of installation for any service for which the Total Cost of Service 
Connection exceeds the typical cost (Line 38) by three times. 

8. Connection fees are assumed to be in the first $50,000 of income for which the 
federal income tax rate is 15%. 

 

 

 


