
California Public Utilities Commission 
                               505 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94102 

                               News Release 
 

California Public Utilities Commission 11/30/04 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE     

Media Contact:  Terrie Prosper, 415.703.1366, news@cpuc.ca.gov     

     

PUC INVESTIGATION LEADS TO CRIMINAL CHARGES 
AGAINST ILLEGAL MOVING COMPANY 

24-HOUR MOVING SERVICES/POOR MAN’S MOVER 

  SAN FRANCISCO, Nov. 30, 2004 - The California Public Utilities Commission’s (PUC) 

Consumer Protection and Safety Division today announced that a staff investigation found that 

John Elliot Kahn, owner of 24-Hour Moving Service and Poor Man’s Mover, continued to 

perform moving services without a valid PUC household goods permit.  

The PUC staff investigation also uncovered violations of PUC consumer protection rules 

that movers are required to follow. In April 2004, the PUC submitted the results of its 

investigation to the Attorney General’s Office and requested that a criminal complaint be filed 

against Kahn. 

On July 29, 2004, the Attorney General’s Office charged Kahn with 162 counts of Public 

Utilities Code, Penal Code, Business and Profession Code, and Commission tariff rules, 

including: grand theft (4 counts); petty theft (1 count); operating a moving company without a 

permit (32 counts); false and misleading advertising and unfair business practices (32 counts); 

failure to file evidence of public liability, cargo and workers’ compensation insurance (6 counts); 

failing to follow consumer protection rules and regulations established in PUC tariffs (85 

counts); and failure to display a Cal-T number on the door of the cab of the vehicle (2 counts).   

Kahn was arrested in early September 2004.  On Nov. 16, 2004, a pre-trial hearing was 

held at the Newport Beach Harbor Court in Newport Beach.  Kahn pled guilty to four counts of 

operating a moving company without a permit, false and misleading advertising, failure to secure 

workers’ compensation insurance, and failure to issue a complete Agreement for Services. Kahn 

was also placed on six months summary probation, ordered to pay $1,521 in restitution to four 

consumers; $1,500 in investigation cost to the PUC; $1,000 in fines and $121 in court fee to the 

Newport Beach Court, and ordered to terminate all business phone lines.  
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The Public Utilities Code makes it a crime to engage or attempt to engage in transporting 

used household goods without a valid PUC license.  The PUC suggests that consumers check to 

see whether a moving company is licensed with the Commission before contracting with the 

company by calling the Commission at 1-800-877-8867.  If consumers have a complaint about a 

move that they cannot resolve with the mover, call the Commission at 1-800-366-4782 to file a 

complaint.   

For more information on the PUC, please visit: www.cpuc.ca.gov.  
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