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PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

	Communications Division
	RESOLUTION T-17359

	Carrier Oversight & Programs Branch
	April 19, 2012


R E S O L U T I O N
Resolution T-17359.   Operating Authority Revocation of Licenses of Telephone Carriers for their Failure to Comply with the Requirements Covering Reporting and Remittance of the Utility Reimbursement Account Fee, Public Purpose Program Surcharges and Performance Bond Filing 

_________________________________________________________________

SUMMARY

This resolution revokes operating authorities held by one hundred and six (106) telephone carriers listed in Appendix A for failure to comply with the following: a)  the reporting and remittance requirement of California Public Utilities Reimbursement Account Fee in accordance with Public Utilities (PU) Code Sections 401 through 405, b) the reporting and remittance requirement of public purpose programs surcharges in compliance with Decision (D.) 96-10-066, and / or c) the submission of a performance bond requirement as ordered under  D. 10-09-017.

BACKGROUND

Operating authorities are issued to telephone carriers by order of the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC or Commission).  With the granting of operating authority to a carrier, the Commission imposes requirements which a carrier must adhere to or be subject to suspension or revocation of its license.  These requirements may include, but are not limited to, the reporting and payment of User Fees and public purpose program surcharges and the posting of a performance bond.

A.  Utility Reimbursement Account Fee

PU Code Sections 401 through 405 require a telecommunications carrier to report its California revenues and remit the corresponding CPUC Utilities Reimbursement Account Fees (User Fee) on a schedule that is dependent on the level of its intrastate revenue.  The User Fee, is determined by multiplying the carrier’s intrastate revenues by a fee factor, which is currently set at 0.18%.  Revenues that are subject to fees include all intrastate customer revenues from telecommunications services minus uncollectibles except revenues from the following:  a) directory advertising and sales; b) one-way paging; c) terminal equipment sales; and d) inter-carrier sales.  The Commission requires carriers with gross intrastate customer revenues of $750,000 or less to file annually and carriers with annual gross intrastate revenues in excess of $750,000 must file quarterly.  Carriers that have zero intrastate revenues must report even if the User Fee amount due is zero.

If a carrier is in default of the reporting and/or payment of User Fees for more than 30 days, the CPUC may suspend or revoke its operating authority under PU Code section 405.

B.  Surcharges 

California statute authorizes the Commission to establish universal service programs to provide telecommunications service to low-income, deaf and disabled, and rural (or other high-cost) customers.
  Likewise, the statute gives the Commission discretion with respect to the collection and disbursement of funds to support these programs.
 

In D. 84-05-053, D. 94-09-065, and most recently, in D. 09-10-066, the Commission established rules which provide that State universal service programs are to be funded through a surcharge on revenues earned from intrastate telecommunications services, including wireless services.

Currently, there are six Commission mandated telecommunications surcharges supporting various public programs in California.  The surcharge rates vary from program to program and are adjusted periodically based on the forecasted demand of the programs.  

Telecommunications carriers collect the surcharges from their customers, and, in turn, remit the surcharges to the Commission.  Carriers that are 90 days or more in arrears of reporting and remitting surcharges may be subject to revocation of their authority to operate in California.

C. Performance Bond

In D 10-09-017, the, the Commission required registration license holders
 to obtain a continuous performance bond equal to or greater than ten percent of intrastate revenues reported on the Commission’s User Fee Statement during the preceding calendar year or $25,000, whichever is greater.  The performance bond must be issued by a corporate surety company authorized to transact surety business in California, and the Commission must be listed as the obligee on the bond.  The Commission ordered existing registration license holders to submit the performance bond within 90 days after the issuance of the Decision and within 90 days after the issuance of a registration license for new registration holders.

In Ordering Paragraph 26 of D.10-09-017, the Commission authorized the Communications Division (CD) to prepare for Commission consideration a resolution revoking the registration license of any registration license holder that is more than 120 days late in providing the Director of CD a copy of its executed performance bond and that has not been granted an extension of time.

DISCUSSION

This resolution revokes the operating authority of 106 carriers that are in default of at least one of the following requirements:

· reporting and remittance of User Fees

· reporting and remittance of surcharges

· submission of a performance bond

A summary of the non-compliant carriers by utility type is shown below:

	Summary of Non-Compliant Carriers 

	Utility Type
	No of Carriers

	Competitive Local Carrier
	21

	Competitive Local Reseller
	  3

	Interexchange Carrier
	26

	Interexchange Reseller
	53

	Personal Communication Carrier
	  2

	Radio Telephone Utility
	   1

	TOTAL
	106


Of the 106 carriers being proposed for revocation:

· 31 failed to report and remit User Fees, surcharges and submit performance bonds

· 23 failed to submit performance bonds

· 7 failed to report and remit surcharges and submit performance bonds

· 17 failed to report and remit surcharges and User Fees

· 12 failed to report and remit User Fees and submit performance bonds

· 16 failed to report and remit surcharges

A.  User Fee

Under PU Code Section 405, carriers that are in default of reporting and submitting fees for a period of 30 days or more will be subject to penalties including suspension or revocation of their authority to operate in California. 

Although the Commission staff notifies carriers annually that a user fee statement needs to be submitted and remitted, CD’s review of the user fee database revealed that 60 carriers have failed to comply with this requirement.

B.  Surcharge Reporting and Remittance

Carriers were notified on numerous occasions over the course of a year of the requirement to use the Commission’s new Telecommunications and User Fee Filing System (TUFFS) for the reporting and payment of all public program surcharges.  An initial notice appeared on the Commission’s Daily Calendar on April 22, 2010.  CD sent a letter to all carriers on May 26, 2010 indicating that carriers would be required to use the TUFFS reporting system and the online payment system beginning on July 1, 2010.  Subsequently, CD e-mailed a notice containing frequently asked questions to all carriers.

After revisions to TUFFS were rolled out, all carriers were advised by a letter from the Director of CD dated May 26, 2011, that modifications to the TUFFS system would be made beginning with the June 2011 filing period.  In addition, the Commission hosted a WebEx information session on June 15, 2011 to train carriers on the use of TUFFS.  

Recognizing that some carriers were still not compliant with surcharge reporting requirements, CD sent yet another letter on October 17, 2011 to carriers that had still not reported public program surcharges using TUFFS for the May 2010 through May 2011 period.  The letter provided a warning that the carriers had until November 16, 2011 to become compliant.  CD’s review of the TUFFS reporting records at the end of December 2011 resulted in the identification of 71 carriers who continue to be non-compliant.

C.  Performance Bond

CD monitors the compliance of registered carriers with the performance bond requirement set forth under D. 10-09-017.  A recent review of filings finds that many telephone carriers have not submitted bonds in compliance with Commission requirement.  In response to this finding, CD undertook the following steps to achieve carrier compliance:

1. Identified and prepared a list of telephone corporations that were delinquent in submitting bonds.

2. Mailed a first reminder notice to all delinquent registered corporations requiring them to submit the performance bond on or before March 2011.

3. Mailed a second notice to all delinquent telephone corporations to remind them of the Commission’s reporting and bond requirements and instructed the carriers to report before March 2011.

4. Further extended the deadline to June 30 2011.

CD has determined that, of the 261 telephone carriers that were sent reminder notices, 74 carriers have failed to comply with the Commission’s performance bond requirement.

CONCLUSION

We find that the Commission staff employed proper and reasonable measures to locate, inform and remind the carriers listed in Appendix A of the Commission licensing requirements discussed herein.  Thus, we find it reasonable to revoke the licenses of such carriers, for having been non-compliant with our formal licensing requirements.  In addition, the Telephone Utility Identification Numbers of carriers listed in Appendix A are canceled.

Telephone carriers with valid operating authorities are noticed that these revoked carriers in Appendix A are no longer operating in California and they should cease from conducting business with carriers whose licenses have been revoked.   Consequently, these revoked carriers are not to be sold services for retail purposes.  

Any telephone carrier whose operating license has been revoked may reapply for a new operating authority subject to: a) compliance with the Commission’s licensing application rules (e.g. performance bond requirement), and b) reporting all gross intrastate revenue for past periods out of compliance, and c) pay all applicable fees and surcharges including a 25% fine on applicable fees and surcharges for all past periods out of compliance.

Commission staff is authorized to collect a 25% fine on all applicable fees and surcharges from any telephone carrier whose operating license has been revoked and is applying for a new operating authority. The Commission will remit the fine to the State Treasury.

COMMENTS ON THE DRAFT RESOLUTION

In compliance with PU Code § 311 (g), a Notice of Availability was e-mailed on March 20, 2012 to all telecommunications carriers informing these parties that the draft of this Resolution is available at the Commission’s website http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/ and is available for public comments.  In addition, CD informed these parties of the subsequent availability of the conformed resolution, when adopted by the Commission, at the Commission’s website as indicated above.  

Notice of carrier names on this Resolution also appeared on the PUC’s Daily Calendar for 30 days.  Interested parties were invited to contact CD staff with questions or written comments on this Resolution.

Sixty-three (63) telephone carriers have become 100% compliant since the release of Draft Resolution of T-17359.  The charts and tables in Appendix A have been updated to reflect the change in compliance level.  

FINDINGS

1. The telephone carriers listed in Appendix A have received operating authority from the Commission. 

2. Public Utilities Code sections 401 through 405 require telephone carriers to annually or quarterly report California revenues and remit corresponding CPUC Utilities Reimbursement Account Fees.  The Commission, under PU Code section 405, may suspend or revoke operating authorities of carriers that are remiss in reporting and remitting the User Fees for more than 30 days.

3. In D. 84-05-053, D. 94-09-065, and most recently, in D. 09-10-066, the Commission established rules which provide that State universal service programs are to be funded through a surcharge on revenues earned from intrastate telecommunications services, including wireless service.  The Commission may revoke the operating licenses of carriers that are 90 days or more in arrears on reporting and remitting surcharges.
4. The Commission, in D 10-09-017, required registration license holders to submit a continuous performance bond within 90 days after the effective of the Decision for existing registration license holders and within 90 days from the issuance of a registration license for new registration holders. In the same Decision, the Commission authorized the Communications Division to pursue license revocations of carriers that fail to submit the required performance bond within 120 days from the issuance of the Decision for existing registration holders and 120 days from the issuance of registration licenses for new applicants.
5. The telephone carriers listed in Appendix A have not complied with at least one of these requirements: a) not timely filed CPUC reports and remitted the Utilities Reimbursement Account Fee, b) not timely filed CPUC reports and remitted public programs surcharges, and c) submitted the performance bond.

6. Commission staff undertook proper and reasonable measures to locate, inform and remind the companies listed in Appendix A of the User Fee, surcharge and performance bond requirements.

7. Operating authorities of the telephone carriers listed in Appendix A should be revoked and their Telephone Utility Identification Numbers should be cancelled for failure to comply with PU Code Section 405, D. 96-10-066 and D. 10-07-017. 

8. Telephone carriers with valid operating authorities are noticed that these revoked companies are no longer operating in California and they should cease from conducting business with carriers whose licenses have been revoked.  These carriers with revoked licenses cannot be sold services for retail purposes.

9.
 Any telephone carrier whose operating license has been revoked may reapply for a new operating authority subject to: a) compliance with the Commission’s licensing application rules (e.g. performance bond requirement), and b) reporting all gross intrastate revenue for past periods out of compliance, and c) pay all applicable fees and surcharges including a 25% fine on applicable fees and surcharges for past periods out of compliance.

11. Commission staff should be authorized to collect a 25% fine on all applicable fees and surcharges from any telephone carrier whose operating license has been revoked and is applying for a new operating authority. The Commission will remit the fine to the State Treasury.

12. Notices of Availability were e-mailed on March 20, 2012 to all telecommunications carriers informing these parties that the draft of this Resolution is available at the Commission’s website http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/ and is available for public comments.  In addition, CD informed these parties of the subsequent availability of the conformed resolution, when adopted by the Commission, at the Commission’s website as indicated above.  

13. Notice of carrier names on this Resolution also appeared on the PUC’s Daily Calendar for 30 days.  Interested parties were invited to contact CD staff with questions or written comments on this Resolution.

14. Sixty-three (63) telephone carriers have become 100% compliant since the release of Draft Resolution T-17359.  

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:

1. The operating authorities issued to the telephone carriers listed in Appendix A are revoked.


2. The Telephone Utility Identification Numbers of the telephone carriers listed in Appendix A are canceled. 

3.
Telephone carriers with valid operating authorities are noticed that these revoked companies are no longer operating in California and they should cease from conducting business with carriers whose licenses have been revoked.  These carriers with revoked licenses cannot be sold services for retail purposes. 

4. Any telephone carrier whose operating license has been revoked may reapply for a new operating authority subject to: a) compliance with the Commission’s licensing application rules (e.g. performance bond requirement), and b) reporting all gross intrastate revenue for past periods out of compliance, and c) pay all applicable fees and surcharges including a 25% fine on applicable fees and surcharges for past periods out of compliance.

5. Commission staff is authorized to collect a 25% fine on all applicable fees and surcharges from any telephone carrier whose operating licenses has been revoked and is applying for a new operating authority. The Commission will remit the fine to the State Treasury.

This Resolution is effective today.

I hereby certify that this Resolution was adopted by the Public Utilities Commission at its regular meeting on April 19, 2012.  The following Commissioners approved it:

	               /s/ Paul Clanon

	PAUL CLANON

Executive Director




	                      MICHAEL R. PEEVEY

                      President

	TIMOTHY ALAN SIMON

	  MICHEL PETER FLORIO

	    CATHERINE J.K. SANDOVAL

	                        MARK J. FERRON 

	                   Commissioners

	


Appendix A

List of Carriers to be Revoked

[image: image1.wmf]UTILITY TYPE

UTILITY NAME

U-number

Bond

Surcharges

User Fees

RTU

Kern Valley Dispatch, Inc.

2026

X

PCC

Clear Choice Pcs, LLC

2155

X

X

PCC

Point Bta 79 LLC

3080

X

IEC

Network Telephone Services

5189

X

IEC

US Telecom, Inc.

5231

X

IEC

Economy Telephone, Inc.

5291

X

IEC

Tel-One

5410

X

X

IEC

US South Communications, Inc.

5636

X

IEC

Totel Corporation

5868

X

X

X

IEC

OLS, Inc.

5886

X

X

IEC

Public Interest Network Services Inc.

5983

X

IEC

Uni-Tel Communications Group, Inc.

6026

X

X

X

CLC

Trinsic Communications, Inc

6027

X

X

IEC

The Dodson Group, Inc.

6037

X

X

IEC

MFS Globenet, Inc

6048

X

X

IER

U.S. Telestar Communications Group, Inc.

6161

X

IER

Affordable Voice Communications, Inc

6223

X

X

IER

Miracle Communications, Inc

6243

X

IER

Telemanagement Systems, Inc

6334

X

X

IER

Snip Link, LLC

6395

X

X

X

CLC

Western States Teleport

6457

X

X

IER

Closecall America, Inc.

6495

X

X

IER

Pioneer Telecom, Inc.

6535

X

X

X

IER

Yak Communications (America), Inc.

6578

X

IEC

QX Telecom, LLC

6600

X

IEC

McBlue Telecom, Inc.

6617

X

IEC

Gold Line Telemanagement, Inc.

6643

X

IEC

Great America Networks, Inc.

6649

X

X

IER

Telenational Communications, Inc.

6666

X

X

IEC

National Access Long Distance, Inc

6678

X

X

X

IER

Today's Resources, Inc.

6690

X

X

X

IER

Local Exchange Technologies, LLC

6705

X

X

IEC

Master Call Communications, Inc

6724

X

IER

Primo Communications, Inc

6728

X

X

X

IEC

Necc Telecom, Inc.

6736

X

IEC

Telecom North America Inc.

6737

X

CLC

Nobeltel, LLC

6739

X

IEC

Touchtone Communications, Inc

6746

X

IER

Asia Talk Telecom, Inc.

6752

X

X

X

CLC

Ruralwest-Western Rural Broadband, Inc.

6757

X

IER

Call Plan USA California, Inc.

6779

X

CLC

Com Net (USA) LLC

6785

X

IEC

BCE Nexxia Corporation

6819

X

X

IER

One Phone, Inc.

6826

X

X

X

IER

Cooperative Communications, Inc

6832

X

IER

Cable & Wireless Americas Operations, 

6835

X

X

CLC

Tierzero Telecom LLC

6836

X

CLC

Paxio, Inc.

6850

X

IER

IPC Network Services, Inc. (Gains)

6860

X

CLC

Quality Telephone, Inc.

6865

X

X

IER

Grid 4 Communications, Inc.

6873

X

X

X


[image: image2.wmf]UTILITY TYPE

UTILITY NAME

U-number

Bond

Surcharges

User Fees

IER

RB Communications, Inc.

6876

X

IER

Andiamo Telecom, LLC

6895

X

X

X

CLC

Planet Telesis, Inc.

6912

X

X

IER

United American Technology, Inc.

6915

X

X

IER

Southwest Communications, Inc.

6943

X

X

X

IEC

PG Telecom of California, Inc.

6945

X

X

X

IER

Euro Connect, Inc.

6975

X

X

IER

MMG Holdings, Inc.

6982

X

IER

Consumer Telcom, Inc.

6984

X

X

IEC

Myatel Corporation

6992

X

X

X

IER

Ace Communications, Inc.

6995

X

X

X

IER

Nationwide Long Distance Service, Inc.

6999

X

IER

California Calling 10, LLC

7015

X

X

CLC

Sun Microwave, Inc.

7027

X

IER

Velocity the Greatest Phone Company

7031

X

X

IER

Pulse Telecom, LLC

7032

X

CLC

Cost Plus Communications, LLC

7033

X

X

IER

Ztelephony LLC

7037

X

IER

Owtel, Inc.

7041

X

X

X

CLC

Broadband Associates International

7044

X

X

IER

Devine Communications

7053

X

X

IER

Allcom Telink Corporation

7059

X

X

CLC

Sierra Advantage, Inc

7065

X

X

IER

Applewood Communications Corporation

7066

X

IER

Global Tech Telecommunications, Inc

7069

X

X

IER

Optic Internet Protocol, Inc

7084

X

IER

D & N Tel, LLC

7088

X

X

X

IER

Nexustel, LLC

7099

X

X

X

CLR

Prayztel Communications, LLC

7106

X

X

IEC

Momentum Telecom, Inc.

7108

X

X

IER

Affinity Telecom Inc.

7115

X

X

X

IER

Saturn Telecommunications Services, Inc.

7116

X

X

IEC

Ald Telecom, LLC

7119

X

X

X

IER

Global Telecom LLC

7120

X

X

X

CLR

Vaya Telecom, Inc.

7122

X

X

CLR

Airdes, LLC

7125

X

X

IER

Central Telecom Long Distance, Inc.

7127

X

IER

Act Tele, Inc.

7130

X

X

X

CLC

One Source Networks Clec LLC

7132

X

X

IER

&TV Communications, Inc.

7142

X

X

X

IER

BKT Telecom Corporation

7145

X

X

X

IEC

X2 Telecom, Inc.

7149

X

X

X

IER

Adma Telecom, Inc.

7153

X

IER

Barevox, Inc.

7155

X

X

X

CLC

West Coast Voice & Data, Inc.

7161

X

IER

Bridgevoice, Inc.

7162

X

X

X

CLC

Redwood Telephone, LLC

7165

X

CLC

CVC CLEC, LLC

7168

X

X

CLC

Transtelco, Inc.

7173

X

X

IER

JRT, Inc.

7177

X

X

X

CLC

Agnostic Networks, LLC

7180

X

X

X

IER

San Phonecisco Communications, Inc.

7193

X

X

X

IER

Hypersurf Internet Services, Inc.

7196

X

X

X

CLC

Appia Communications, Inc.

7206

X

X

CLC

American Broadband, Inc.

7210

X


End of Appendix A

� PU Code Section 401 et seq


� P.U. Code § 739.3(c).


� Decision 93-05-010.


� A “registration license holder,” “registration licensee” or “registrant” is an entity that obtained or obtains interexchange authority pursuant to § 1013 through the simplified registration process established by D.97-06-107 that does not hold interexchange authority pursuant to § 1001.
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