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	STATE OF CALIFORNIA
	Public Utilities Commission

San Francisco

	M e m o r a n d u m



	Date:
	August 19, 2003

	
	

	To:
	The Commission

(Meeting of August 21, 2003)

	
	

	From:
	Alan LoFaso, Director

Office of Governmental Affairs (OGA) — Sacramento

	
	

	Subject:
	AB 845 (Vargas):  Household goods carriers.

As Amended July 14, 2003

	


Legislative Subcommittee Recommendation: Support, with Amendments.

Summary:  This bill would prohibit a Household Goods Carrier (HGC) from transporting household goods and personal effects without a valid Commission license.

Digest:  Existing law, the Household Goods Carriers Act (HGCA), PU Code sec. 5101 et. seq., provides the following:

 Regulation of Household Goods Carriers to promote safe public highways, just, reasonable, and nondiscriminatory rates for transportation services, and adequate household goods transportation services to meet the demand of the public, PU Code sec. 5102.

 A requirement that all carriers transporting household goods within California secure an operating permit from the Commission, PU Code sec. 5133.  

 That a violation of the HGCA is a misdemeanor, punishable by maximum fine of $1,000 or 3 months in jail, or both, PU Code sec. 5311.

Existing law provides specified authority to the Commission to enforce the HGCA, including the following, to:

 Administratively suspend, revoke, or penalize licensed carriers who violate the provisions of the Household Goods Carrier Act.  (PU Code sec. 5285.5)

 Assess civil penalties against unlicensed carriers.  (PU Code sec. 5313.5)

 File suit in Superior Court and obtain injunctions and writs of mandamus against licensed and unlicensed carriers who violate the Act.  (PU Code sec. 5259)

 File suit in Superior Court to recover penalties.  (PU Code sec. 5317)

Existing law, the Commission's General Order 102-H, contains regulations governing the relationship between "prime carriers" and "independent contractor subhaulers” (subhaulers).  These regulations require the subhauler to be licensed, a written agreement between the prime carrier and subhauler, and that the prime carrier be bonded to ensure payment to the subhauler.  The written subhaul agreement may be a continuing agreement, not tied to a specific job.

Existing law, the Commission's Maximum Rate Tariff 4, contains maximum rates and rules for the transportation of used household goods.  These rules include:

· Item 88b, requiring that the HGC make it clear to the customer whether the carrier is acting on its own authority or as an agent for another carrier (e.g., as a subhauler). 

· Item 104, acknowledging the HGC’s lien as the bailee of the household goods shipment in its possession, and governing the credit relationship between HGCs and consumers relating to the HGC’s rights as a lien holder.   

· Item 470, requiring HGCs to provide consumers with the booklet entitled “Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods (within California).”  This booklet, prepared by the Commission, offers guidelines and recommendations for consumers who are moving and explains HGC obligations to them.

Existing law, Commercial Code secs. 7307, 7308, 7309, 7310, provides that a carrier and warehousemen loses his lien on any goods which he voluntarily delivers or which he unjustifiably refuses to deliver with regard to specific situations and procedures.
This bill would specify that “the business of transportation of used household goods” (for which a Commission license is required) includes advertising, soliciting, offering, or entering into an agreement to transport used household goods and personal effects.  

This bill would also require businesses engaged in these activities to have an operating permit issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, in addition to a Commission license, to engage in the intrastate moving business.

This bill would codify the requirement that HGCs provide the Commission-developed booklet entitled “Important Information for Persons Moving Household Goods (within California).”  
This bill would require HGCs to provide consumers with a standard notice form, prescribed in statute, stating a “Not to Exceed” amount indicating the maximum cost for the services to be provided by the HGC.  An HGC would be required to provide this form at least three days prior to the scheduled move date, except as specified.

This bill would provide that a licensed HGC has a lien on household goods to secure payment equal to the “Not to Exceed” amount specified in the form described above. 

This bill would authorize a consumer to recover any compensation paid to an unlicensed HGC.  Unlicensed HGCs would be prohibited from recovering transportation charges from a consumer.

This bill would:

 Authorize state and local law enforcement agencies, at the request of the Commission, to remove and impound any vehicle operated by an unlicensed HGC (a public nuisance) for a period of up to 72 hours, and to enable the Commission to obtain an order from the Superior Court to prevent the use of the motor vehicle in violation of the law. 

 Provide that a willful violation of the Household Goods Carrier Act is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000 and one year in jail, or both.

This bill would prohibit licensed HGC’s from transporting household goods under a subhauling agreement unless:

 The subhauler is licensed by the Commission;

 The subhauler complies with the Household Goods Carriers Act; and

 Carrier and subhauler are jointly and severally liable for any loss or damage caused by the subhauler.  

This bill would also require the Commission to adopt any rules and regulations it determines necessary to enforce the requirements of a subhauling agreement.

This bill would clarify that civil remedies in addition to criminal penalties, are cumulative to the remedies and penalties available under any other law.

This bill would authorize the Commission to request the Attorney General or a district attorney to aid with any investigation, hearing, or trial under the Household Goods Carriers Act.

This bill would provide that the Attorney General, local district attorneys, and city attorneys have the same jurisdiction to prosecute violations of the Household Goods Carriers Act as the Commission.

Analysis:  Proponents of this bill believe it would provide significant consumer protections for household goods customers and will significantly improve the Commission’s program of regulating HGCs.  

This bill would assist consumers by:

 Prohibiting a HGC from transporting household goods unless the carrier has a Commission permit and a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration operating authority. 

 Providing a standard notice detailing the maximum amount and a description of services that will be performed by a HGC.

 Requiring HGCs to provide notice within 24 hours if they enter into an agreement with a subhauler to transport household goods.

 Allowing the recovery of any compensation paid to an unlicensed HGC.

 Providing that both the carrier and subhauler are jointly liable for any loss or damage caused by the subhauler.

This bill would significantly improve the Commission’s program of regulating HGCs by:

 Increasing the fine and punishment for a willful violation of the Household Goods Carrier Act.

 Authorizing the Commission to work with the Attorney General or a district attorney to aid in any investigation, hearing, or trial under the Household Goods Carriers Act.

 Clarifying that civil remedies in addition to criminal penalties are cumulative to each other and to the remedies and penalties available under any other law.
AB 845 would protect HGCs by allowing them to have a lien on a consumer’s household goods to secure payment for transportation.  While no lien applies to food, medicine, medical devices or items used for the care of a minor child, the amount secured by the lien equals the maximum amount specified and agreed to by the consumer in a prescribed form (discussed above) for transportation services.

AB 845 would also remove the Commission’s exclusive enforcement jurisdiction over HGCs, branching HGC enforcement authority between the Attorney General and other local prosecutorial agencies.  Staff of the Consumer Protection and Safety Division (CP&SD) is concerned about this provision because competing jurisdictions and lack of coordination might lead to inefficient case management, duplication of efforts, and inconsistent enforcement philosophy.  This would make it nearly impossible for the Commission to create a uniform statewide enforcement strategy and insure that violators are prosecuted with the same vigil. 

FISCAL IMPACT

According to Consumer Protection and Safety Division, the implementation of this bill would require the Commission to add the following positions:  1 new Senior Transportation Representative, costing $78,360, 3 Associate Transportation Representatives, costing $204,909, and 1 Office Technician, costing $39,030, totaling $322,299 plus $91,000 for benefits and operating expenses.  The total cost estimate for these positions is approximately $413,299.
P.U. Code sec. 5133(a), as proposed to be amended, would expand the definition of unlicensed activity.  By expanding the range of activities that give rise to enforcement against unlicensed carriers, AB 845 would expand the Commission staff’s workload.  AB 845 would also provide for expanded Commission enforcement activities in the following areas:

· 5133 (b) – prohibiting unlicensed carrier attempts to recover money/property

· 5142 (b)(2) – maximum total amount may not be preprinted, must be just and reasonable, and must be in good faith

· 5143 – requirement of new document, in 12-point type, provided 3 days before the move outlining, among other things, the “not to exceed amount”.

SUGGESTED AMENDMENTS 
1.
Jurisdiction:  CP&SD staff is concerned about a provision of the bill that authorizes the Attorney General, a local District Attorney (DA) or a city attorney to prosecute HGC’s that violate any law relating to the transportation of Household goods.  A recent California Supreme Court case ruled against the Alameda County DA in their attempts to bring unfair competition/unfair business practice actions against Pacific Bell.  Instead, they cited that the Commission has exclusive jurisdiction over such issues.

Therefore, CP&SD staff proposes the following changes (page 12, lines 10-23):

   5317.5.  The commission shall ensure that this chapter is enforced and obeyed, and that violations thereof are promptly prosecuted and penalties due the state therefor recovered and collected, and to this end it may sue in the name of the people of the State of California.  Upon the request of the commission, the Attorney General or the district attorney of the proper county or city and county shall aid in any investigation, hearing, or trial had under this chapter.  The Attorney General, a district attorney of the proper county or city and county, or a city attorney may institute and prosecute actions or proceedings under the Business and Professions Code Section 17200 et. seq. and 17500 et. seq. for the violation of any law committed in connection with, or arising from, a transaction involving the transportation of household goods and personal effects.
CP&SD staff believes these changes would create a uniform statewide enforcement strategy and insure that violators are prosecuted with the same vigil.

2.
Fee Assessment:  Commission enforcement is currently funded by a fee assessed to carriers, which goes to the Transportation Rate Fund, a special fund.  The fee is capped statutorily, and the current Commission-set fee is set at its maximum level.  Commission staff recommends that AB 845 include an amendment to P U Code Section 5003.2 (c) that raises the maximum assessment from one-half of one percent to a level that will authorize the Commission to assess fees to fund support for AB 845’s consumer protection provisions.

Therefore, Commission staff proposes the following amendment  (PU Code Sec. 5003.2(c)):

5003.2.  (a) Notwithstanding Section 5003.1, the commission shall require every highway carrier otherwise subject to Section 5003.1 for whom the commission does not establish minimum or maximum rates, or require rates to be on file with the commission, to pay a fee equal to one-tenth of 1 percent of the amount of gross operating revenue.

(b) When a household goods carrier pursuant to Section 5137 elects to transport under its household goods carrier permit used office, store, and institution furniture and fixtures, notwithstanding Section 5003.1, the fee on the gross operating revenue derived from transporting those items shall be one-tenth of 1 percent.

(c) The commission may raise the fee imposed by Section 5003.1 upon those persons and corporations subject to that section for whom the commission establishes minimum or maximum rates or requires rates to be on file, up to a maximum of one-half three-quarters of 1 percent of gross operating revenue, if the commission decides this increase is necessary to maintain adequate financing for the Transportation Rate Fund.

Legislative History:

Assembly Transportation: 13-3 (do pass) (4/28/03)

Assembly Approps.: 17-7 (do pass) (5/14/03)

Assembly Floor: 47-31 (do pass) (5/29/03)
Senate Judiciary: 5-1 (do pass) (7/8/03)
SUPPORT/OPPOSITION 

Support:  California Moving and Storage Association, Attorney General's Office, Better Business Bureau, Congress of California Seniors; Consumers Union, Los Angeles City Attorney's Office.

Opposition: None reported.
Legislative Staff Contact:
Matthew Marcus, Legislative Liaison
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Alan LoFaso, Legislative Director
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BILL LANGUAGE:

BILL NUMBER: AB 845
AMENDED


BILL TEXT


AMENDED IN SENATE  JULY 14, 2003


AMENDED IN SENATE  JULY 3, 2003


AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY  APRIL 21, 2003


AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY  MARCH 24, 2003

INTRODUCED BY   Assembly Member Vargas

                        FEBRUARY 20, 2003

   An act to amend Sections 5102, 5111, 5133, 5311, and 5316 of, to

add Sections 5142, 5143, and 5317.5 to, and to add Article 5.4

(commencing with Section 5243) to Chapter 7 of Division 2 of, the

Public Utilities Code, relating to public utilities.


LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

   AB 845, as amended, Vargas.  Household goods carriers.

   (1) Under existing law, the Public Utilities Commission has

regulatory authority over public utilities, including transportation

companies. Household goods carriers are subject to the jurisdiction

and control of the commission under the Household Goods Carriers Act.

  The act prohibits a household goods carrier from engaging, or

attempting to engage, in the business of the transportation of used

household goods and personal effects, by motor vehicle over any

public highway in the state, without a permit issued by the

commission. The act declares that it is not to be construed as a

regulation of interstate or foreign commerce, except as permitted

under the United States Constitution and the acts of Congress.

   This bill would prohibit a household goods carrier from engaging,

or attempting to engage, in the business of the transportation of

used household goods and personal effects, by motor vehicle over any

public highway in the state, including advertising, soliciting,

offering, or entering into an agreement, without a permit issued by

the commission authorizing transportation entirely within the state,

or a valid operating authority issued by the Federal Motor Carrier

Safety Administration, for interstate transportation.  A household

goods carrier without a permit issued by the commission or a valid

operating authority issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

Administration, would be prohibited from enforcing any security

interest or bringing an action to recover any money, property, or

other relief from any consignor, consignee, or owner of household

goods or personal effects for services rendered, and any person

utilizing the services of an unpermitted and unauthorized household

goods carrier would be authorized to bring an action to recover all

compensation paid to the household goods carrier.  The operation of a

motor vehicle without a permit or authorization would constitute a

public nuisance under the bill.  The bill would instead declare that

the act is not to be construed as a regulation of interstate or

foreign commerce, except as not prohibited under the United States

Constitution and the acts of Congress.

   This bill would, with certain exceptions, permit a household goods

carrier a lien on used household goods and personal effects to

secure payment for transportation and additional services ordered by

the consignor, as defined. The existence and amount of the lien would

be conditioned upon providing the consignor with a specified notice

that clearly and conspicuously specifies the dollar amount for

transportation and additional services, which amount is required to

be estimated in good faith based upon the specific circumstance and

to be just and reasonable, and would prohibit the dollar amount from

being preprinted on the notice.  Upon tender to the household goods

carrier of the amount specified in the notice, the lien would be

extinguished and the household goods carrier would be required to

release all household goods and personal effects to the consignee, as

defined.   Knowing failure to release the goods would be a

public offense.   The bill would authorize any person

injured by a violation of these requirements to bring an action for

recovery of the greater of $1,000 or actual damages, injunctive or

other equitable relief, reasonable attorney's fees and costs, and

exemplary damages of not less than three times the amount of actual

damages for a willful violation.

   This bill would prohibit a household goods carrier from

transporting household goods under a subhauling agreement unless the

agreement is with another licensed household goods carrier and the

customer or shipper is provided with reasonable notice and consents

in writing to the subhauling arrangement.  The bill would require the

commission to make any rules and regulations necessary to enforce

these requirements.  The bill also would make a technical,

nonsubstantive change.

   (2) Under the Household Goods Carriers Act, a household goods

carrier and every officer, director, agent, or employee who violates

or fails to comply with the act or an order, decision, rule,

regulation, direction, demand, or requirement of the commission, is

guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by fine of not more than $1,000

or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 3 months, or

both. The act provides that the penalties accruing under the act are

cumulative.

   Because a violation of the Household Goods Carriers Act or an

order of the commission is a crime under existing law, the bill would

impose a state-mandated local program by expanding a crime. The bill

would make a willful violation punishable by fine of not more than

$10,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one

year, or both. The bill would make a violation of the above described

provision requiring a household goods carrier to have a permit or

authorization, a misdemeanor, punishable by fine of not more than

$10,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one

year, or both.  The bill would provide that the remedies and

penalties accruing under the act are cumulative.

   (3) The Public Utilities Act requires the commission to see that

statutes affecting public utilities are enforced and obeyed, and that

violations are promptly prosecuted and penalties to the state are

recovered and collected.  The act requires that upon request by the

commission, the Attorney General or a district attorney aid the

commission in any investigation, hearing, or trial under the act and

authorizes the Attorney General or a district attorney to institute

and prosecute actions for the enforcement of constitutional and

statutory provisions pertaining to public utilities.

   This bill would require the commission to ensure that the

Household Goods Carriers Act is enforced and obeyed, and that

violations are promptly prosecuted and penalties to the state are

recovered and collected.  The bill would require that upon request by

the commission, the Attorney General or a district attorney aid the

commission in any investigation, hearing, or trial under the

Household Goods Carriers Act and authorizes the Attorney General, a

district attorney, or city attorney to institute and prosecute

actions for the  enforcement of the Household Goods Carriers

Act   violation of any law involving the transportation

of household goods and personal effects  .

  (4) The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse

local agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the

state.  Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that

reimbursement.

   This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this

act for a specified reason.

   Vote:  majority.  Appropriation:  no.  Fiscal committee:  yes.

State-mandated local program:  yes.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

  SECTION 1.  Section 5102 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to

read:

   5102.  The use of the public highways for the transportation of

used household goods and personal effects for compensation is a

business affected with a public interest.  It is the purpose of this

chapter to preserve for the public the full benefit and use of public

highways consistent with the needs of commerce without unnecessary

congestion or wear and tear upon those highways; to secure to the

people just, reasonable, and nondiscriminatory rates for

transportation by carriers operating upon the highways; to secure

full and unrestricted flow of traffic by motor carriers over the

highways that will adequately meet reasonable public demands by

providing for the regulation of rates of all carriers so that

adequate and dependable service by all necessary carriers shall be

maintained and the full use of the highways preserved to the public;

and to promote fair dealing and ethical conduct in the rendition of

services involving or incident to the transportation of household

goods and personal effects.

  SEC. 2.  Section 5111 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to

read:

   5111.  This chapter shall not be construed as a regulation of

commerce with foreign nations or among the several states, except

insofar as such regulation is not prohibited under the provisions of

the Constitution and the acts of the Congress of the United States.

  SEC. 3.  Section 5133 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to

read:

   5133.  (a) No household goods carrier shall engage, or attempt to

engage, in the business of the transportation of used household goods

and personal effects, by motor vehicle over any public highway in

this state, including advertising, soliciting, offering, or entering

into an agreement regarding the transportation of used household

goods and personal effects, unless each of the following is

satisfied:

   (1) There is in force a permit issued by the commission

authorizing those operations for transportation of household goods

and personal effects entirely within this state.

   (2) There is in force a valid operating authority issued by the

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration for transportation of

household goods and personal effects from this state to another state

or from another to this state.

   (b) A household goods carrier that engages, or attempts to engage,

in the business of the transportation of used household goods and

personal effects in violation of subdivision (a) may not enforce any

security interest or bring or maintain any action in law or equity to

recover any money or property or obtain any other relief from any

consignor, consignee, or owner of household goods or personal effects

in connection with an agreement to transport, or the transportation

of, household goods and personal effects or any related services.  A

person who utilizes the services of a household goods carrier

operating in violation of subdivision (a) may bring an action in any

court of competent jurisdiction in this state to recover all

compensation paid to that household goods carrier.

   (c) The operation of a motor vehicle used in the business of

transporting household goods and personal effects by a household

goods carrier that does not possess a valid permit or operating

authority, as required by subdivision (a), constitutes a public

nuisance.  Any peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing

with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code, may remove

any motor vehicle located within the territorial limits in which the

officer may act, when the vehicle is found upon a highway and is

being used in a manner constituting a public nuisance.  At the

request of the commission, the Attorney General, district attorney,

city attorney, or county counsel, the law enforcement agency may

impound the vehicle for a period not to exceed 72 hours to enable the

requesting agency to abate the public nuisance, to obtain an order

from the superior court of the county in which the vehicle has been

impounded to prevent the use of the motor vehicle in violation of

law, and to obtain any other remedy available under law as permitted

by Section 5316.

  SEC. 4.  Section 5142 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to

read:

   5142.  (a) Except as provided in Section 5133, a household goods

carrier in compliance with this chapter  ,  has a

lien on used household goods and personal effects to secure payment

 of the amount specified in subdivision (b)  for

transportation and additional services ordered by the consignor.  No

lien attaches to food, medicine, or medical devices, items used to

treat or assist an individual with a disability, or items used for

the care of a minor child.

   (b) (1) The amount secured by the lien is the maximum total dollar

amount for the transportation of the household goods and personal

effects and any additional services (including any bona fide change

order permitted under the commission's tariffs)  , that shall

be   that is  set forth clearly and conspicuously

in writing adjacent to the space reserved for the signature of the

consignor  , and   and that is  agreed to

by the consignor before any goods or personal effects are moved from

their location or any additional services are performed.

   (2) The dollar amount for the transportation of household goods

and personal effects and additional services ,  may

not be preprinted on any form, shall be just and reasonable, and

shall be established in good faith by the household goods carrier

based on the specific circumstances of the services to be performed.

   (c) Upon tender to the household goods carrier of the amount

specified in subdivision (b), the lien is extinguished, and the

household goods carrier shall release all household goods and

personal effects to the consignee.

   (d) Any person having possession or control of household goods or

personal effects, who knows, or through the exercise of reasonable

care should know, that the household goods carrier has been tendered

the amount specified in subdivision (b),  and who refuses to

release the household goods and personal effects upon the request of

a peace officer, or upon the request of the consignor or consignee

made in the presence of a peace officer, has committed a public

offense in the officer's presence under Section 836 of the Penal

Code.   shall release the household goods and personal

effects upon the request of the consignor or consignee. 
   (e) Nothing in this section affects any rights  , if any,

 of a household goods carrier to claim additional amounts, on an

unsecured basis, or of a consignor or consignee to make or contest

any claim, and tender of payment of the amount specified in

subdivision (b) is not a waiver of claims by the consignor or

consignee.

   (f) Any person injured by a violation of this section  by

a household goods carrier,  may bring an action for the

recovery of the greater of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or actual

damages, injunctive or other equitable relief, reasonable attorney's

fees and costs, and exemplary damages of not less than three times

the amount of actual damages for a willful violation.

   (g) Any waiver of this section shall be void and unenforceable.

   (h)  Notwithstanding any other law, this section exclusively

establishes and provides for a household goods carrier's lien on used

household goods and personal effects to secure payment for

transportation and additional services ordered by the consignor.

   (i)  For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the following meaning:

   (1) "Consignor" means the person named in the bill of lading as

the person from whom the household goods and personal effects have

been received for shipment and that person's agent.

   (2) "Consignee" means the person named in the bill of lading to

whom or to whose order the household goods carrier is required to

make delivery as provided in the bill of lading and that person's

agent.

  SEC. 5.  Section 5143 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to

read:

   5143.  (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the following meaning:

   (1) "Consignor" means the person named in the bill of lading as

the person from whom the household goods and personal effects have

been received for shipment and that person's agent.

   (2) "Consignee" means the person named in the bill of lading to

whom or to whose order the household goods carrier is required to

make delivery as provided in the bill of lading and that person's

agent.

   (b) Any household goods carrier engaged in the business of

transportation of used household goods and personal effects by motor

vehicle over any public highway in this state shall provide each

consignor with a completed copy of the notice set forth in this

section.  The notice shall be printed in at least 12-point type,

except the title and first two paragraphs which shall be printed in

boldface type, and provided to each consignor at least three days

prior to the date scheduled for the transportation of household goods

or personal effects.  If the consignor requests services on a date

that is less than three days before the scheduled date for

transportation of the household goods or personal effects, the

carrier shall provide the notice as soon as practicable, but in no

event may the carrier commence any services until the consignor has

signed and received a signed copy of the notice.  The carrier shall

obtain sufficient information from the consignor to fill out the form

and shall include the correct maximum amount and a sufficient

description of services that will be performed.  The carrier shall

retain a copy of the notice, signed by the cosignor, for at least

three years from the date the notice was signed by the cosignor.

   (c) Any waiver of the requirements of this section is void and

unenforceable.

   (d) The "Not To Exceed" amount set forth in the notice and the

agreement between the household goods carrier and the consignor

 ,  shall be the maximum total dollar amount for

which the consignor may be liable for the transportation of household

goods and personal effects and any additional services ordered by

the consignor (including any bona fide change order permitted under

the commission's rules and tariffs) and agreed to by the consignor

before any goods or personal effects are moved from their location or

any other services are performed.

   (e)  A household goods carrier may provide the notice set

forth in this section either as a separate document or by including

it as the centerfold of the informational booklet that the household

goods carrier is required to provide the consignor under the

commission's tariffs.  If the household goods carrier provides the

notice as part of the informational booklet, the booklet shall

contain a tab that extends beyond the edge of the booklet at the

place where the notice is included.  The statement "Important Notice"

shall be printed on the tab in at least 12-point boldface type.  In

addition, the statement "Customer Must Read And Sign The Important

Notice In The Middle Of This Booklet Before A Move Can Begin" shall

be set forth in 14-point boldface type on the front cover of the

booklet.

   (f)  The notice provided the consignor shall be in the

following form:

      "IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT YOUR MOVE

    "IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU ONLY AGREE TO A "NOT TO EXCEED"

AMOUNT THAT YOU THINK IS A PROPER AND REASONABLE FEE FOR THE SERVICES

YOU ARE REQUESTING.  THE "NOT TO EXCEED" AMOUNT THIS MOVER IS

REQUESTING IS $______________________ to perform the following

services:

_____________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________

_

______________________________________________________________________

_.

    "IF YOU DO NOT AGREE TO THE "NOT TO EXCEED" AMOUNT LISTED OR THE

DESCRIPTION OF SERVICES, YOU SHOULD NOT SIGN IT AND MAY

  HAVE THE RIGHT TO  REFUSE THE MOVER'S SERVICE AT

NO CHARGE TO YOU.

"If you request additional or different services at the time of the

move, you may be asked to complete a Change Order which will set

forth your agreement to pay for additional fees for those newly

requested services.  If you agree to the additional charges on that

Change Order, those charges may be added to the "NOT TO EXCEED"

amount set forth above.  If you do not agree to the  amounts

listed in the Change Order, you have the right to not sign it and you

have the right to refuse the mover's services.  
amounts listed in the Change Order, you should not sign it and may

refuse the mover's services. 
"A mover cannot refuse to release your goods once you have paid the

"NOT TO EXCEED" amount for the transportation of your goods and

personal effects and any additional services that you have agreed to

in writing.  The "NOT TO EXCEED" amount must be reasonable.

"A mover cannot, under any circumstances, withhold food, medicine,

medical devices, items to treat or assist a disabled person, or items

used for care of a minor child.  An unlicensed mover has no right to

withhold your goods for any reason including claims that you have

not adequately paid for services rendered.

"For additional information or to confirm whether a mover is licensed

by the California Public Utilities Commission, please call the

Public Utilities Commission toll free at: 
      ________________________________.

insert toll-free number

     "I have completed this form and provided the consumer (shipper)

with a copy of this notice.

"Signed _________________________________

Dated_______________________

"I have been provided with a copy of this form.

Signed __________________________________ Dated ___________________"

  SEC. 6.  Article 5.4 (commencing with Section 5243) is added to

Chapter 7 of Division 2 of the Public Utilities Code, to read:

      Article 5.4.  Subhauling Agreements

   5243.  No household goods carrier may transport household goods

under a subhauling agreement unless each of the following occurs:

   (a) The subhauler is licensed by the commission to transport

household goods and complies with the requirements of this chapter.

   (b) The household goods carrier and subhauler are jointly and

severally liable for any loss or damage caused by the subhauler.

   5244.  The commission shall adopt any rules and regulations it

determines to be necessary to enforce the requirements of this

article.

  SEC. 7.  Section 5311 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to

read:

   5311.  (a) Every household goods carrier and every officer,

director, agent, or employee of any household goods carrier who

violates or who fails to comply with, or who procures, aids, or abets

any violation by any household goods carrier of any provision of

this chapter, or who fails to obey, observe, or comply with any

order, decision, rule, regulation, direction, demand, or requirement

of the commission, or of any operating permit issued to any household

goods carrier, or who procures, aids, or abets any household goods

carrier in its failure to obey, observe, or comply with any such

order, decision, rule, regulation, direction, demand, requirement, or

operating permit, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and is punishable by

fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by

imprisonment in the county jail for not more than three months, or

both.  If a violation is willful, each willful violation is

punishable by fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or

by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, or

both.

   (b)  Any person who violates subdivision (a) of Section 5133, is

guilty of a misdemeanor, and is punishable by fine of not more than

ten thousand dollars ($10,000), by imprisonment in the county jail

for not more than one year, or both, for each violation.

  SEC. 8.  Section 5316 of the Public Utilities Code is amended to

read:

   5316.  All remedies and penalties accruing under this chapter are

cumulative to each other and to the remedies and penalties available

under any other law, and a suit for the recovery of one  remedy

or  penalty does not bar or affect the recovery of any other

 penalty   remedy, penalty,  or forfeiture

or bar any criminal prosecution against any person or corporation, or

any officer, director, agent or employee thereof, or any other

corporation or person, or bar the exercise by the commission of its

power to punish for contempt.

  SEC. 9.  Section 5317.5 is added to the Public Utilities Code, to

read:

   5317.5.  The commission shall ensure that this chapter is enforced

and obeyed, and that violations thereof are promptly prosecuted and

penalties due the state therefor recovered and collected, and to this

end it may sue in the name of the people of the State of California.

  Upon the request of the commission, the Attorney General or the

district attorney of the proper county or city and county shall aid

in any investigation, hearing, or trial had under this chapter.  The

Attorney General, a district attorney of the proper county or city

and county, or a city attorney may institute and prosecute actions or

proceedings for the  enforcement of this chapter and for the

punishment of all violations thereof   violation of any

law committed in connection with, or arising from, a transaction

involving the transportation of household goods and personal effects.

  SEC. 10.  The provisions of this act are severable.  If any

provision of this act or its application is held invalid, that

invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications that can

be given effect without the invalid provision or application.

  SEC. 11.  No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to

Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because

the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school

district will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or

infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty

for a crime or infraction, within the meaning of Section 17556 of the

Government Code, or changes the definition of a crime within the

meaning of Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California

Constitution.                  
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