
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

General Order 133-D 

Redline  
 

 

 
Note: 
 
Black fonts represent original text from General Order (GO) 133-D 
Crossed-out red fonts represent deleted text from GO 133-D 
Red fonts represent proposed additional text 
Fonts highlighted in gray represent text under further consideration 
 

California Public 
Utilities Commission 

FILED
06/27/24
03:38 PM
R2203016



R.11-12-001 ALJ/AA6/ge1 

 
General Order 133-D 

Public Utilities Commission of the State of California 
Rules Governing Telecommunications Services 

 
Following is a list of decisions which authorized changes to General Order 133. 

 
General Order 133 Decision No. 80082 

(C.9535) 
Adopted May 11, 1972 
Effective 20 days later 

General Order 133-B Decision No. 92-05-056 
(A.91-07-41) 

Adopted May 20, 1992 
Effective 30 days later 

General Order 133-C Decision No. 09-07-019 
(R.02-12-004) 

Adopted July 9, 2009 
Effective July 9, 2009 

General Order 133-D Decision No. 16-08-021 
(R.11-12-001) 

Adopted Aug. 18, 2016 
Effective Aug. 18, 2016 
Except Section 9 on fines, 
which is effective Jan. 1, 2017 

General Order 133-D 
Corrected Version 

Decision No. 16-10-019 Corrections issued 

 
1. GENERAL 

 
1.1 Intent. 

a. Purpose. The purpose of these rules is to establish uniform minimum 
standards of service to be observed in the operation of public utility 
telephone corporations. 

b. Limits of Order. These rules do not cover the subjects in the filed tariff 
rules of telephone utilities. 

c. Absence of Civil Liability. The establishment of these rules shall not 
impose upon utilities, and they shall not be subject to, any civil liability for 
damages, which liability would not exist at law if these rules had not been 
adopted. 

d. These rules may be revised in scope on the basis of experience gained in 
their application and as changes in technology, the telecommunications 
market, or technology may require. 

1.2 Applicability. These rules are applicable to all public utility telephone 
corporations providing service within the State of California, except as 
otherwise noted. 

 



1.3 Definitions. 
a. Access Line: A wire or wireless connection that provides a real time two way 

voice telecommunications service or VoIP service to or from any device 
utilized by an end user, regardless of technology, which is associated with a 
10-digit NPA-NXX number or other unique identifier and a service address or 
Place of Primary Use in California pursuant to Decision 22-10-021. 

b. Areas of Affordability Concerns (AAC): The Commission adopted this 
geographical designation in Decision 22-08-023. The AACs, presented at the 
census tract level, are areas where the Affordability Ratio (AR) metric for 
representative low-income households is disproportionately higher than the 
rest of the state. The higher the AR metric, the less affordable it is for 
households to pay for essential utility services. The AACs can be imputed for 
a specific essential utility service. 

c. Business Office – A centralized service group which receives small 
business and/or residential customer requests for new installations or 
changes in existing service. This also includes billing center inquiries. 

d. CalEnviroScreen: A mapping tool developed by the California 
Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) 
that uses environmental, health, and socioeconomic information 
to produce scores for every census tract in California. The 
scores are mapped so that different census tracts can be 
compared. A census tract with a high score is one that 
experiences a much higher pollution burden than census tracts 
with low scores. The OEHHA updates CalEnviroScreen 
periodically to reflect updated demographic information. The 
OEHHA released its latest version, CalEnviroScreen 4.0, in 
October 2021. 

e. Census Tracts: Per the United States Census Bureau, census 
tracts are defined as small, relatively permanent geographic 
entities within counties (or the statistical equivalents of counties) 
delineated by a committee of local data users. Generally, census 
tracts have between 2,500 and 8,000 residents and boundaries 
that follow visible features. 

f. Central Office Entity – A group of lines using common-originating 
equipment or under stored program control. 

g. CLEC: A Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC), per Pub. Util. Code 
§§ 234, § and 1001, and Decision 95-07-054, provides local telephone 
services in the service territories formerly reserved for Incumbent Local 
Exchange Carriers (ILECs), in competition with ILECs, and must obtain a 
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) from the 
Commission. 

h. COLR: A Carrier of Last Resort (COLR) is required to serve upon request 
all customers within its designated service areas, including providing 
basic telephone service as defined by Decision 12-12-038. Pursuant to 



Decision 96-10-066, a carrier seeking to be a COLR needs to file a notice 
of intent (NOI) with the Commission in order to have access to high cost 
fund subsidies. Once designated a COLR, the carrier must get the 
Commission’s approval to opt out of its obligation to serve. 

i. Commission: In the interpretation of these rules, the word “‘Commission” 
shall be construed to mean the The Public Utilities Commission of the 
State of California. 

j. Commitment: The date agreed to by a customer and a utility for the 
completion of requested work. 

k. Community Isolation Outage: Pursuant to California Code of Regulations, 
Title 19. Public Safety, Division 2. California Governor's Office of 
Emergency Services, Chapter 1.5 Community Isolation Outages, § 2480.2. 
Community Isolation Outage Reporting Thresholds, a community isolation 
outage limits a telecommunications service provider's end users' ability to 
make 911 calls or receive emergency notifications. The outage duration is 
measured in hours and minutes from the time when the outage occurs to 
the time when service is restored. 

l. Customer: A customer is a separate account number for voice service, or 
a bundle of communications services including voice, and includes small 
business (5 lines or less) and residential customers. 

m. Disadvantaged Communities (DAC): Disadvantaged communities refers to 
the areas throughout California which most suffer from a combination of 
economic, health, and environmental burdens. These burdens include 
poverty, high unemployment, air and water pollution, presence of 
hazardous wastes as well as high incidence of asthma and heart disease. 
One way that the state identifies these areas is by collecting and 
analyzing information from communities all over the state. The 
Commission adopted the California Environmental Protection Agency’s 
(Cal EPA) updated geographical designation of DACs in Decision 22-08-
023 presented at the census tract level, that include: (i) census tracts 
receiving the highest 25 percent of overall scores in CalEnviroScreen 4.0; 
(ii) census tracts lacking overall scores in CalEnviroScreen 4.0 due to data 
gaps but receiving the highest 5 percent of CalEnviroScreen 4.0 
cumulative pollution burden score; (iii) census tracts identified in the 2017 
DAC designation as disadvantaged, regardless of their scores in 
CalEnviroScreen 4.0, and (iv) lands under the control of federally 
recognized tribes. 

n. Environmental and Social Justice (ESJ) communities: Predominantly 
communities of color or low-income communities that are 
underrepresented in the policy-setting and decision-making process. They 
include (i) disadvantaged communities, as defined as census tracts that 
score in the top 25% of CalEnviroScreen, (ii) all tribal lands, (iii) low-
income households, and (iv) low-income census tracts.   

o. ETC: Eligible Telecommunications Carrier (ETC) - A telecommunications 



carrier that has been designated by the Commission, pursuant to 47 USC 
§ 214 (e) (2) as eligible to receive federal lifeline and/or high cost Universal 
Service support. Designated ETCs must file annual recertification advice 
letters to continue to be eligible for federal high cost fund support. 

p. Facilities-based Carriers: A telephone corporation or interconnected VoIP 
provider that owns or controls facilities used to provide communications 
services for compensation, including the line to the end-user’s location. A 
local exchange carrier providing service solely by resale of the ILEC’s 
local exchange services is not a facilities-based carrier. By Commission 
Decision (D.) 95-12-057, facilities-based carriers must file an 
environmental assessment report and undertake mitigation efforts 
addressing any adverse environmental impacts associated with their 
construction activities under their CPCN. 

q. GRC ILECs: A General Rate Case Incumbent Local Exchange Carrier 
(GRC ILECs) is an ILEC whose rates are regulated by the Commission 
per General Order 96-B.  A GRC ILEC is designated a COLR in its 
franchise territories per D.96-10-066, the decision where the Commission 
first spelled out what is meant by basic telephone service for purposes of 
Universal Service funding and updated by and D.14-01-036, and is 
regulated through cost-of- service reviews by the Commission per General 
Order 96 B. 

r. Installation of Telecommunications Service: The provision of telephone 
service at the customer’s request. The process of setting up and configuring 
telecommunications equipment, systems, and infrastructure to enable the 
transmission of voice, data, and multimedia signals over communications 
networks. This installation encompasses a wide range of activities, including 
the deployment of hardware, cabling, software, and service quality checks to 
establish a functional telecommunications network. 

s. IEC: An Interexchange Carrier (IEC) is a wireline telephone company that 
provides interstate (long distance) communications services within the United 
States. 

t. ILEC: An Incumbent Local Exchange Carrier (ILEC) is a certificated local 
telephone company such as Pacific Bell Telephone Company (now d/b/a 
AT&T California) and Verizon California Inc., which that used to be the 
exclusive local telephone service provider in a franchise territory 
established before the Telecommunications Reform Act of 1996. See Pub. 
Util. Code §§ 234 and § 1001. 

u. Interconnected Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) Provider: 
Pursuant to 47 C.F.R. § 9.3, an interconnected VoIP provider is a 
company which provides a VoIP service that uses Internet Protocol 
(IP) or a successor protocol to (i) enable real-time, two-way voice 
communications; (ii) that originates from, or terminates at, the user’s 
location in Internet Protocol or a successor protocol.  requires a 
broadband connection from the user’s location; (iii) requires IP-



compatible customer premises equipment; and (iv) permits users 
generally to receive calls that originate on the public switched 
telephone network (PSTN) and to terminate a call to the PTSNpublic 
switched telephone network. 
A service that uses ordinary customer premises equipment with no 
enhanced functionality that originates and terminates on the public 
switched telephone network, undergoes no net protocol conversion, and 
provides no enhanced functionality to end users due to the provider’s use 
of Internet Protocol technology is not a VoIP service. 
“Internet Protocol enabled service” or “IP enabled service” means any 
service, capability, functionality, or application using existing Internet 
Protocol, or any successor Internet Protocol, that enables an end user to 
send or receive a communication in existing Internet Protocol format, or 
any successor Internet Protocol format through a broadband connection, 
regardless of whether the communication is voice, data, or video. (PU 
Code § 239) 

v. Line An access line (hardwire and/or channel) which runs from the local 
central office, or functional equivalent, to the subscriber’s premises. A 
channel can be provided with or without wires. 

w. Local Exchange: A telecommunications system providing service within a 
specified area within which communications are considered exchange 
messages except for those messages between toll points per D.96-10-066. 

x. Minimum Standard Reporting Level – A specified service level of 
performance for each measure and each reporting unit. 

y. NDIEC: A Non-Dominant Inter-Exchange Carrier (NDIEC) or long distance 
carrier (IEC/IXC) is only required to register with the Commission before 
providing long distance telephone services in California, per Pub.Util. Code 
§ 1013. 

z. Out of Service – A telephone line without dial tone. 
aa. Plain Old Telephone Service: Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS) 

is traditional analog voice transmission phone system implemented 
over physical copper lines. 

bb. Small Business Customer: small business customers are those that 
purchase five or fewer lines. 

cc. TDM – Time division multiplexing. For the purposes of the GO, TDM 
refers to traditional telephone service. 

dd.Telephone Company/Utility – A public utility telephone corporation 
providing public telephone service as further defined by Pub. Util. Code 
§§ 216 and 234. 

ee. Telephone Corporation: Pursuant to Pub. Util. Code § 234, a telephone 
corporation includes every corporation or person owning, controlling, 
operating, or managing any telephone line for compensation within this 



state. 
ff. Telephone Line: Pursuant to Pub. Util. Code § 233, a telephone line 

includes all conduits, ducts, poles, wires, cables, instruments, and 
appliances, and all other real estate, fixtures, and personal property 
owned, controlled, operated, or managed in connection with or to 
facilitate communication by telephone, whether such communication is 
had with or without the use of transmission wires. 

gg. Trouble Report – Any oral or written notice by a customer or customer’s 
representative to the telephone utility which indicates dissatisfaction with 
telephone service, telephone qualified equipment, and/or telephone 
company employees. 

hh.URF Carrier: A Uniform Regulatory Framework (URF) carrier utility that is 
a wireline carrier that has full pricing flexibility over all or substantially all of 
its rates and charges.A Uniform Regulatory Framework (URF) carrier This 
includes any ILEC that is regulated through the Commission’s URF, as 
established in Decision 06-08-030, as modified from time to time by the 
Commission, and includes CLECs and IECs. 

ii. URF CLECs: Competitive local exchange carriers (CLECs) operating in 
territories formerly reserved for the URF ILECs and regulated under the 
URF. 

jj. URF ILECs: URF ILECs are distinguished from GRC ILECs in that they 
are currently granted pricing flexibility through D.06-08-030, which may be 
modified from time to time. 

kk. Wire Center – A facility composed of one or more switches (either soft 
switch or regular switch) which are located on the same premises and 
which may or may not utilize common equipment. In the case of a digital 
switch, all remote processors that are hosted by a central processor are to 
be included in the central office wire center.  

ll. Wireless Carrier: A Wwireless cCarrier (also known as a Commercial 
Mobile Radio Service provider under Federal Communications 
Commission regulations) is a carrier or licensee whose wireless network 
is connected to the public switched telephone network (PSTN). Per 
Commission decision(D.94-10-031), wireless carriers are required to file a 
Wwireless Iidentification Rregistration with the Director of the 
Commission’s Communications Division (CD) within the Commission. 

 
1.4 Information available to the Public.  

The public utility telephone corporation shall maintain, available for public 
inspection at its main office in California, copies of all reports submitted to 
this Commission in compliance with these rules. These copies shall be 
made held available for two years. The public utility telephone corporation 
shall identify the location and telephone number of its main office in 
California in its White Pages directory and/or on its Internet website and shall 
provide information on how to contact it. A copy of these reports will also be 



maintained and be available for public inspection at the Commission’s San 
Francisco and Los Angeles offices. Copies shall also be made available to 
interested parties for a nominal fee to cover the cost of processing and 
reproduction. The availability shall be limited to reports provided by the local 
serving company. 

1.5  Location Production of Records.  
All reports required by these rules shall be kept for ten years after the last 
day of the calendar year and made available to representatives, agents, or 
employees of the Commission upon reasonable notice. 

1.6  Reports to the Commission.  
The public utility telephone corporation shall furnish to the Commission, at 
such times and in such form as the Commission may require, the results or 
summaries of any measurements required by these rules. The public utility 
telephone corporation shall furnish the Commission with any information 
concerning the utility’s facilities or operations which the Commission may 
request and need for determining quality of service. 

1.7  Deviations from any of these Rules.  
In cases where the application of any of the rules incorporated herein results 
in undue hardship or expense to the public utility telephone corporation, it 
may request specific relief by filing a formal application in accordance with 
the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, except that where the 
relief requested is of minor importance or temporary in nature, the 
Commission may accept an application and showing of necessity by letter. 

1.8  Revision of Rules.  
Public utility telephone corporations subject to these rules and other 
interested parties may individually or collectively file with this Commission a 
petition for rulemaking pursuant to Pub. Util. Code § 1708.5 for the purpose 
of amending these rules. The petition shall conform to the requirements of 
Rule 6.3 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure. 

2. VOICE MINIMUM STANDARDS OF VOICE SERVICE MEASURES 
General. These rules establish minimum standards and uniform reporting 
levels for the installation, maintenance, and operator answer time 
customer service for local exchange telephone service based on TDM 
communications services. The service measures established for voice 
services are as follows: 

 
Service Measure Type of Service 
Installation Interval Installation 
Installation Commitments Installation 
Customer Trouble Reports Maintenance 
POTS Outage Out of Service Repair Interval Maintenance 
Answer Time Operator Services  

• Installation Standard 
• POTS Outage Repair Standard 



• VoIP Outage Repair Standard 
• Wireless Community Isolation Outage Repair Standard 
• Customer Service Standard  

 
Description of Reporting Levels. These levels have been established to 
provide customers information on how carriers perform. Minimum 
standard reporting levels are established for each of the service measures. 
Minimum standard reporting levels are applicable to each individual 
reporting unit. 
MINIMUM TELEPHONE SERVICE MEASURES 
 

2.1 Installation Standard Interval – Applies to GRC ILECs and URF ILECs. 
a. Description. Installation Standard requires communications telephone 

corporations to 1) establish basic service within five business days of 
when a customer places an installation service order and 2) fulfill 100 
percent of these service orders. interval measures the amount of time to 
install basic telephone service from the day and hour the customer 
requests service until it is established. When a customer orders basic 
service he/she may request additional features, such as call waiting, call 
forwarding, etc. If an additional feature is included in a basic service 
installation, the installation interval should only reflect the basic service 
installation. Installation interval This standard applies to residential and 
small business customers (those that purchase five or fewer lines). 

b. Measurement Minimum Standard. Five business days. The average 
interval measured by summing each installation interval, expressed in 
business days, between the date the service order was placed and the 
date the service becomes operational during the current reporting 
period, divided by the total service orders during the reporting period. 
This amount excludes all orders having customer requested 
appointments (CRS) later than the utility’s commitment dates.  

c. Minimum Standard Reporting Level Exemption. Business Exclude 
declared state of emergency days by the Governor Days. Five Business 
Days is the minimum standard. 

d. Reporting Unit. Exchange Individual service order level. or wire center, 
whichever is smaller. Wire centers with fewer than 100 lines should be 
combined with other central offices within the same location. A remote 
switching unit with fewer than 100 lines should also be added to its host 
switch. All reporting carriers shall submit the raw data included in the 
report. 

e. Reporting Frequency. The interval Reports shall be compiled monthly and 
reported quarterly for all reporting units. 

f. Base Fine. For service orders that are not fulfilled within five business 
days, assess a base fine amount of $5 per day for each additional day as 



an automatic customer credit. 
g. Environmental and Social Justice Consideration. For service orders in a 

DAC or Communications AAC that are not fulfilled within five business 
days, apply a base fine amount of $10 per day for each additional day as 
an automatic customer credit. 

h. Noncompliance Severity Consideration. None. 
2.2 Installation Commitments – Applies to GRC ILECs. 

a. Description. Requests for establishment of basic telephone services. 
Commitments will not be considered missed when resulting from customer 
actions. Installation commitments apply to residential and small business 
customers (those that purchase five or fewer lines). 

b. Measurement. Monthly count of the total commitments and the commitments 
missed. Commitments met, expressed as a percentage, will equal total 
commitments minus missed commitments divided by total commitments. 

c. Minimum Standard Reporting Level. 95% commitments met. 
d. Reporting unit. Exchange or wire center, whichever is smaller. A wire 

center with fewer than 100 lines should be combined with other central 
offices within the same location. A remote switching unit with fewer than 
100 lines should also be added to its host switch. All reporting carriers 
shall submit the raw data included in the report. 

e. Reporting Frequency. Compiled monthly and reported quarterly. 
2.3 Customer Trouble Reports – Applies to TDM-based voice services offered 

by GRC ILECs and facilities-based URF Carriers with 5,000 or more 
customers and to any URF Carrier with fewer than 5,000 customers that is 
a COLR. Trouble reports apply to residential and business customers. 

a. Description. Service affecting, and out of service trouble reports, from 
customers and users of telephone service relating to dissatisfaction with 
telephone company services. Reports received will be counted and 
related to the total working lines within the reporting unit in terms of reports 
per 100 lines. 

b. Measurement. Customer trouble reports received by the utility will be 
counted monthly and related to the total working lines within a reporting 
unit. 

c. Minimum Standard Reporting Level. Report number of trouble reports per 
100 working lines (excluding terminal equipment reports). Six trouble 
reports per 100 working lines for reporting units with 3,000 or more working 
lines, eight reports per 100 working lines for reporting units with 
1,001-2,999 working lines, and 10 reports per 100 working lines for 
reporting units with 1,000 or fewer working lines. 

d. Reporting Unit. Exchange or wire center, whichever is smaller. A wire 
center with fewer than 100 lines should be combined with other central 
offices within the same location. A remote switching unit with fewer than 



100 lines should also be added to its host switch. URF CLECs that do not 
have exchanges or wire centers shall report at the smallest reporting unit. 
All reporting carriers shall submit the raw data included in the report. 

e. Reporting Frequency. Compiled monthly, reported quarterly. 
2.4 Out of Service Repair Intervals POTS Outage Repair Standard – Applies to 

TDM-based voice services offered by GRC ILECs, facilities-based URF 
ILECs, Carriers with 5,000 or more customers and to any URF CLECs that 
provide POTS voice service Carrier with fewer than 5,000 customers that is 
a COLR. 

a. Description. POTS Outage Repair Standard requires telephone 
corporations to restore outage tickets within 24 hours. Outage tickets 
include both individual outages and community isolation outages. A 
measure of the average interval, in hours and minutes from the time of the 
reporting carrier’s receipt of the out of service trouble report to the time 
service is restored for residential and small business customers. 
Measurement. Commitment is measured by taking the total number of the 
repair tickets restored within less than 24 hours divided by the total outage 
report tickets. In addition, the system average The outage duration is 
measured by summing each repair interval, expressed in clock hours and 
minutes, between the time of the customer called to reported loss of 
service and when service is restored. the customer regains dial tone, 
divided by the total outage report tickets. These measurements include 
only This standard applies to residential and small business customer 
outage tickets. 
Carriers shall submit both the adjusted and unadjusted out of service data. 
The adjusted measurements exclude Sundays, federal holidays and repair 
tickets when maintenance is delayed due to circumstances beyond the 
carrier’s control. Typical reasons for delay include, but are not limited to: 
outage caused by cable theft, third-party cable cut, lack of premise access 
when a problem is isolated to that location, absence of customer support to 
test facilities, or customer’s requested appointment. Deferred maintenance 
or lack of available spares are not circumstances beyond a carrier’s 
control. Changed appointments shall be reported separately by identifying 
the number of such appointments and the time, in hours and minutes, 
associated with these appointments. 
A catastrophic event, an event where there is a declaration of a state of 
emergency by a federal or state authority, and a widespread service 
outage (an outage affecting at least 3% of the carrier’s customers in the 
state) are circumstances beyond the carrier’s control. A catastrophic event 
ends when the trouble ticket level returns to the average level three 
months prior to the catastrophic event. The average level is calculated by 
summing the actual number of out-of-service tickets for residential and 
small business (5 lines or less) customers for the three consecutive 
calendar months that did not have catastrophic events prior to the declared 



State of Emergency divided by three. 
When quarterly reporting includes a delay for one or more months or if a 
catastrophic event or widespread outages affects a carrier’s adjusted 
reporting, the carrier shall provide supporting information as to why the 
month should be excluded and work papers which explain the event, the 
date(s), the areas affected, the total number of residential and small 
business lines affected, and how the adjusted figure was calculated. 

b. Minimum Standard. Reporting Level. Based on adjusted results, 90% of all 
out of service trouble reports within Restore outage tickets within 24 hours 
is the set minimum standardBoth the percentage of outages meeting the 
24-hour standard and the actual system-wide average outage duration 
should be reported. 

c. Exemption. Exclude declared state of emergency days by the Governor. 
d. Reporting Unit. POTS Outage Repair Standard is measured at the 

individual access line level. Reporting is at the state-wide level. However, 
carriers shall submit with the report the underlying data at the exchange or 
wire center level, whichever is smaller, that supports the information being 
reported. A wire center with fewer than 100 lines should be combined with 
other central offices within the same location. A remote switching unit with 
fewer than 100 lines should also be added to its host switch. URF CLECs 
that do not have exchanges or wire centers shall report at the smallest 
reporting unit. 
All reporting carriers shall submit the raw data used to generate the report. 
Raw data should include zip code (zip+4) of the billing address associated 
with the line and type of allowable adjustments which were excluded 
according to section (b.). Instructions for submitting data can be found in 
the Communications Division pages of the Commission’s web site. 
www.cpuc.ca.gov.  

e. Reporting Frequency. Reports shall be Ccompiled monthly and reported 
quarterly. 

f. Base Fine. For outage tickets that are not repaired within 24 hours, assess a 
base fine amount of $5 for each additional day as an automatic customer 
credit for each customer. 

g. Environmental and Social Justice Consideration. For outage tickets in a DAC 
or Communications AAC that are not repaired within 24 hours, apply a base 
fine amount of $10 per day for each additional day as an automatic customer 
credit for each customer. 

h. Severity Consideration. Apply multipliers to increase fine amount for 
extended outages. Refer to table below for details. 

 

POTS Outage Re pair Standard 

Outage Durat ion 24 t o 48 hours Above 48 t o 72 hours Above 72 to 96 hours Above 96 hours 

Mult iplier l x 2x 3x 4x 

http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/


 
2.5 VoIP Outage Repair Standard – Applies to URF ILECs, GRC ILECs, and 

URF CLECs that provide VoIP voice service. 
a. Description. VoIP Outage Repair Standard requires telephone 

corporations to restore outage tickets within 24 hours. Outage tickets 
include both individual outages and community isolation outages. The 
outage duration is measured in clock hours and minutes between the time 
of reported loss of service and when service is restored. This standard 
applies to residential and small business customers. 

b. Minimum Standard. Restore outage tickets within 24 hours. 
c. Exemption. Exclude declared state of emergency days by the Governor. 
d. Reporting Unit. VoIP Outage Repair Standard is measured at the 

individual access line level. 
e. Reporting Frequency. Reports shall be compiled monthly and reported 

quarterly. 
f. Base Fine. For outage tickets that are not repaired within 24 hours, assess 

a base fine amount of $5 for each additional day as an automatic 
customer credit for each customer. 

g. Environmental and Social Justice Consideration. For outage tickets in a 
DAC or Communications AAC that are not repaired within 24 hours, apply 
a base fine amount of $10 per day for each additional day as an automatic 
customer credit for each customer. 

h. Noncompliance Severity Consideration. Apply multipliers to increase fine 
amount for extended outages. Refer to table below for details. 

 
 

2.6 Wireless Community Isolation Outage Repair Standard – Applies to 
telephone corporations that provide wireless voice service. 

a. Description. Wireless Community Isolation Outage Repair Standard 
requires telephone corporations to restore community isolation outage 
tickets within 24 hours. The outage duration is measured in clock hours 
and minutes between the time of reported loss of service and when service 
is restored. This standard applies to residential and small business 
customers. 

b. Minimum Standard. Restore outage tickets within 24 hours. 
c. Exemption. Exclude declared state of emergency days by the Governor. 
d. Reporting Unit. Wireless Community Isolation Outage Repair Standard is 

measured at the individual access line level. 

VoIP Outage Repair Standard 

Outage Duration 24 to 48 hours Above 48 to 72 hours Above 72 to 96 hours Above 96 hours 

M ultiplier lx 2x 3x 4x 



e. Reporting Frequency. Reports shall be compiled monthly and reported 
quarterly. 

f. Base Fine. For outage tickets that are not repaired within 24 hours, assess 
a base fine amount of $5 for each additional day as an automatic 
customer credit for each customer. 

g. Environmental and Social Justice Consideration. For outage tickets in a 
DAC or Communications AAC (based on the impacted customer’s place of 
primary use) that are not repaired within 24 hours, apply a base fine 
amount of $10 per day for each additional day as an automatic customer 
credit for each customer. 

h. Noncompliance Severity Consideration. Apply multipliers to increase fine 
amount for extended outages. Refer to table below for details. 

 
 

2.7 Answer Time Customer Service Standard -- Applies to all telephone 
corporations. for trouble reports and billing and non-billing inquiries applies 
to TDM-based voice services provided by GRC ILECs, facilities-based 
URF Carriers with 5,000 or more customers, and any URF Carrier with 
fewer than 5,000 customers that is a COLR. 

a. Description. Customer Service Standard requires telephone 
corporations to adhere to these five criteria:  

i. Provide live agents A measurement of time for the operator to 
answer within 60 seconds 80% of the customer service calls 
within 60 seconds and to answer 100% of the customer service 
calls within five minutes.  

ii. Provide a chat component on the provider’s webpage for customer 
service inquiries.  

iii. Provide a postal mail component for customer service inquiries.  
iv. Resolve billing-related inquiries by the next billing cycle. 
v. Redirect outage-related inquiries to adhere to POTS Outage 

Repair Standard, VoIP Outage Repair Standard, or Wireless 
Community Isolation Outage Repair Standard. 

to the business office for billing and non-billing inquiries and to the 
repair office for trouble reports. This measurement excludes any 
group of specialized business account representatives established 
to address the needs of a single large business customer or a small 
group of such customers. A statistically valid sample of the 
answering interval is taken to obtain the percentage of calls 
answered within 60 seconds. A customer must be presented with 
the option on an interactive voice response (IVR) or automatic 

Wireless Community Isolation Outage Repair Standard 

Outage Duration 24 to 48 hours Above 48 to 72 hours Above 72 to 96 hours Above 96 hours 

Multiplier l x 2.x 3x 4x 



response unit (ARU) system to speak with a live agent, preferably in 
the first set of options. 

b. Measurement Standard. Adhere to all five criteria. An average 
answer time of a sample of the answering interval on calls to the 
business office and repair office that is representative of the 
measurement period. 
Minimum Standard Reporting Level. 80% answered within 60 seconds 
when speaking to a live agent or 80% answered within 60 seconds when 
speaking to a live agent after completing an IVR or ARU system. If 
measurement data of average answer time is used, it will be converted to 
the percent answered within 60 seconds. 

c. Exemption. Not applicable. 
d. Reporting Unit. Customer Service Standard is measured at the 

company level. Each traffic office serving 10,000 or more lines and 
handling calls to the business office for billing and non-billing 
inquiry calls and to the repair office for trouble report calls. 

e. Reporting Frequency. Reports shall be Ccompiled monthly and 
reported quarterly for percent answered within 60 seconds. 

f. Base Fine. For each day of noncompliance, assess a base fine 
amount that is equivalent to the interest amount for late surcharge 
remittance. 

g. Environmental and Social Justice Consideration. None. 
h. Noncompliance Severity Consideration. None. 

3. QUARTERLY VOICE SERVICE MEASURES FILING RECORDS AND 
REPORTS 

3.1 Reporting Units. Voice Sservice measures shall be maintained by 
reporting units as defined in Section 2. Reporting units are exchange, 
central office entity, wire center, traffic office, trouble report service office, 
or business office as required. 
The reporting unit for each service measure is defined in Section 3. 

3.2 Reporting Requirements. Regarding the quarterly voice service measures 
report templates, CD staff shall determine all reporting requirements, 
including but not limited metadata fields, formatting, file type, and 
submission method. CD staff shall update the templates as necessary.  
Quarterly voice service measures reports shall be made submitted to the 
Communications Divisionto CD of the Commission within 45 days of the 
end of the reporting quarter, for all reporting units. Service interruption 
shall be reported when it is considered a major interruption as defined in 
Section 4. See the Communications Division pages of the Commission’s 
web site for reporting instructions.  
Reports to the Commission regarding a provider’s failure to meet of 



performance not meeting the reporting level minimum standard shall state 
the actual levels of service the provider attained for each service measure 
and the months being reported. Reports on reporting units for two or more 
consecutive months shall also include a description of the performance at 
the reported level, a corrective action plan which includes the specific 
action being taken to improve service, and the estimated date of 
completion of the improvements. 

3.3 Retention of Records. Quarterly summary of service measures shall be 
retained for three years. All records shall be available for examination by 
Commission representatives during the retention period and special 
summaries of service measurements may be requested by the 
Commission. 

3.4 Commission Staff Reports. The CD staff may compile and post the 
minimum service standards and the performance of each telephone 
corporation carrier on the Commission’s website. 

4. ANNUAL VOICE SERVICE MEASURES FILING 
Advice Letter Tabulating Fine. The performance of any telephone 
corporation that does not meet the minimum standards shall submit 
annually, by February 15 of the following year, a Tier II Advice Letter that 
shows by month each Service Quality measurement that it did not meet 
the minimum standards and the applicable fine. 
The advice letter shall contain detailed calculations using MS Excel 
spreadsheets (or a format specified by the Communications Division) with 
explanations of how each fine was calculated and assumptions used in the 
calculation. CD will prepare a resolution for the Commission annually, and 
if the resolution is adopted, then fines shall be payable to the California 
Public Utilities Commission for deposit to the California General Fund. 
The minimum annual fine shall be no lower than the registration fee for a 
CPCN. 

5. MAJOR SERVICE INTERRUPTION SERVICE OUTAGE REPORTING 
a. Applicability. This section applies to: 

i. All Ttelephone corporations. that have been granted either a franchise 
or a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) pursuant 
to Public Utilities Code §1001, 
ii. Telephone corporations that are registered under Public Utilities Code 
§1013, 
iii. Telephone corporations that are registered with this Commission 
pursuant to Wireless Identification Registration (WIR) process, and 
iv. Any entity subject to Public Utilities Code § 285. 

b. Description. The Commission adopts and utilizes for its major service 
interruption reporting the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC’s) 
Part 4 rules concerning communications disruption and outages, the 



FCC’s Network Outage Reporting System (NORS) reporting 
requirements, and the annual ETC (Eligible Telecommunications Carrier) 
outage report,  as modified by FCC over time. The Commission also 
adopts and utilizes the California Governor’s Office of Emergency 
Services (Cal OES) requirement for telephone corporations to submit 
notifications for community isolation outages. The FCC’s Part 4 rules and 
NORS user manual can be found at the following FCC website link: 
http://www.fcc.gov/pshs/services/cip/nors/nors.html 

 
c. NORS Reporting Procedures: 

(i)  Written reports are normally satisfactory. In cases where large 
numbers of customers are impacted or that are otherwise of great 
severity, a telephone report should be made promptly. For those 
entities that offer both TDM-based and VoIP services, Telephone 
corporations are required to provide NORS reports for all service 
types, including POTS, VoIP, and wireless. 

(ii) Concurrent reports shall be submitted to the Communications Division 
(CD) and the Office of Ratepayer Public Advocates Office (PAO) or 
their successor divisions when the carrier files its reports with FCC’s 
NORS system. Carriers shall submit a report to the Commission 
when the communication disruption or outage meets the FCC’s 
reporting threshold and that disruption or outage involves 
communications in California, regardless of whether the affected 
communications in California independently meet the FCC’s reporting 
threshold. Reports shall be filed with the CD per CD’s directed 
method/media in a manner of CD’s choosing. 

(iii) Final NORS reports shall be made confirming that service has been 
fully restored. 

(iv) ETCs, concurrent with their FCC filing, shall submit the annual outage 
report that provides detailed information on any outage lasting at least 
30 minutes and potentially affecting 10% of their customers in a 
designated service area. 

d. Cal OES Reporting Procedures: 
(i) Telephone corporations are required to provide community isolation 

outage notifications to Cal OES for all service types, including 
POTS, VoIP, and wireless. 

(ii) The Communications Division may request, through a standard 
template, the underlying data, including but not limited to individual 
access line information, of these outage notifications. 

e. Confidentiality. Major Service Interruption NORS and Cal OES 
reports submitted to the Commission pursuant to these rules shall be 
treated as confidential in accordance with Pub. Util. Code § 583 and 
General Order 66-CD. 

http://www.fcc.gov/pshs/services/cip/nors/nors.html


f. Retention of Records. All service outage reporting shall be retained 
for ten years.  

6. WIRELESS COVERAGE MAPS– Applies to all facilities-based telephone 
corporations that are registered as wireless carriers or service providers, 
and have been granted a CPCN or a WIR. 

6.1 Description:  Wireless coverage maps shall show where wireless phone 
users generally may can expect to receive signal strength adequate to 
place and receive calls when outdoors under normal operating 
conditions. 

6.2 Requirements. Wireless carriers shall provide coverage maps on their 
websites and at retail store locations. 

a. Wireless carriers shall provide coverage maps in printable format on their 
websites and also in a printable or pre-printed format at retail store 
locations so that customers can take a printed copy with them. Wireless 
carrier representatives at retail store locations shall implement 
procedures to make available printable coverage map during the 
customer ordering process a sales transaction coverage maps depicting 
approximate wireless service coverage at the customer's physical 
address location applicable to the wireless service rate plan(s) being 
sold. 

b. Wireless carriers shall provide coverage maps depicting approximate 
wireless service coverage applicable to the wireless service offered rate 
plan(s). All coverage maps shall include a clear and conspicuous 
disclosure of equipment constraints with regards to wireless data 
transmission standards. material limitations in wireless service coverage 
depiction and wireless service availability 

c. Wireless carriers shall provide the latest coverage maps to CD capable of 
verifying coverage at exact address, preferably using Geographical 
Information System shapefiles.   

7. STAFF INVESTIGATIONS AND ADDITIONAL REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS 
Commission staff may investigate any reporting unit that does not meet a 
minimum standard reporting level and any major service interruption. Staff 
may recommend the Commission institute a formal investigation into a 
carrier’s performance and alleged failure to meet the reporting service level 
for six or more consecutive months. 
Carriers that fail to meet any standard for two consecutive months or more 
shall file with the Communications Division, or its successor, a Corrective 
Action Plan for each month that the service quality measures are not met 
that explains the reason(s) for missing the standard(s) and the actions that 
the company will take to correct the causes and improve performance to a 
level that meets adopted measures and standards. 

8. REFUNDS AUTOMATIC CUSTOMER CREDIT RECORDS 



URF carriers and GRC ILECs shall utilize their existing tariff or customer 
guidebook provisions for customer refunds. If a carrier does not have a 
tariff or guidebook provision for customer refunds, the carriers should 
develop a refund policy and file with the Commission a Tier 1 Advice Letter 
to describe the refund policy, identify where the policy can be found, and 
modify the tariff or customer guidebook as appropriate. 
All carriers If applicable, telephone corporations shall report the number 
and total amount of automatic customer credits refunds by month. This 
data should be compiled monthly and reported quarterly in a separate form 
filed with the quarterly voice service measures reports. 

 
9. FINES    
9.1 General. Applies to facilities-based telephone corporations that offer TDM- 

based voice service and have been granted either a franchise or a 
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) pursuant to 
Public Utilities Code § 1001 or are registered pursuant to Public Utilities 
Code §1013, and are regulated under the Uniform Regulatory Framework 
(URF) adopted in D.06-08-030. For companies that offer both TDM and 
VoIP based services, fines apply only to TDM-based service. 
A carrier will begin incurring a fine for these measures when it reaches a 
“chronic failure status,” which is failure to meet the minimum standard for 
three consecutive months. No fines will be assessed for missing the first 
two months. 
A carrier in chronic failure status will be fined a specific amount for each 
day that it failed to meet the minimum monthly standard. The fine does not 
end and restart when the calendar reporting year ends and a new year 
begins. A carrier exits chronic failure status after it meets the standard for 
two consecutive months. However, until the carrier exits chronic failure 
status, the carrier will continue to incur fines for any succeeding months 
that it failed to meet the standard. 
The fine will be assessed based on the size of the carrier relative to the 
number of access lines in California at the end of June of the applicable 
year. The June 30th total California line count will be posted on the 
Communications Division’s web page for each year of calculation. The 
formula to scale the fines follows: 

(Carrier’s Access Lines/Total CA Access Lines in June) = Carrier’s 
Scaling Factor 
(Carrier’s Scaling Factor) X (Monthly Base Fine per Measure) X 
(Number of Months Measure Was Not Met) = Fine 

For example, if a carrier were 24% of total access lines, the scaling factor 
of .24 would be applied to the monthly base fine for the number of months 
that the carrier was in chronic status. A carrier will exit chronic failure 
status when it meets the standard for two consecutive months. 

--------------- ------------------------------------



9.2 Dispute Resolution. If CD staff determines that the calculation(s) in the 
advice letter is (are) incorrect, staff will attempt to clarify the terms and 
calculations with carrier. If the dispute is resolved, the carrier shall file a 
supplemental advice letter with corrected terms and calculations. If staff 
continues to disagree with the carriers’ calculations, staff shall reject the 
supplemental advice letter. 
The carrier (or a protesting party, or a third party, if applicable) may 
request Commission review of the advice letter disposition in accordance 
with GO 96B § 7.7.1. In the event staff disputes the advice or the carrier 
requests commission review, staff will prepare and place on the 
Commission's meeting agenda a proposed resolution, and will serve it on 
the requester and all others on whom the request was served. 

9.3 Out of Service (OOS) Repair Interval Fine. Carriers must meet the 
minimum OOS measure on a monthly basis. Initially, if a carrier does not 
meet this standard for three (3) consecutive months, it will be assessed a 
fine based on adjusted results, beginning in the third month, and will be 
considered to be in chronic failure status. 
The base daily fine amount for OOS is $25,000. For the purpose of 
calculating the fine, a month consists of 30 days. 
For example, if a carrier that had 60% of total access lines initially failed to 
meet the standard for three consecutive months, the fine for the third, and 
each subsequent month, would be $750,000 per month X the carrier’s 
scaling factor of .6, for a total of $450,000 per month. Table 1 is a 
summary of the base fine for failure to meet the OOS standard. 

 
Table 1: Base Out Of Service Fine 

 
 1 to 2 

Consecutive 
Months of OOS 

Standard Not Met 

3 or more 
Consecutive 

Months of OOS 
Standard Not Met 

Fine Per Day $0 per day $25,000 per day 
Days in a Month 
(for all months) 30 days 30 days 

Base Fine per Month $0 $750,000 

 
9.4 Customer Trouble Reports (CTR) Fine. The fines for customer trouble 

reports shall be based on company-wide CTR results. Once it reaches 
chronic status, a carrier receiving 10 or more customer trouble reports per 
100 access lines (10%) for its entire service territory will be assessed a 
fine. 
The fine amount will be increased based on the number of consecutive 
months a carrier fails to meet the 10% standard. The initial fine is $500 per 



day, which will escalate to the highest daily fine of $2,000 per day after 12 
or more consecutive months. Table 2 illustrates the progression. 

 
Table 2: Base Customer Trouble Report Fine 

 1 to 2 
Consecutive 

Months 

3 to 5 
Consecutive 

Months 

6 to 8 
Consecutive 

Months 

9 to 11 
Consecutive 

Months 

12 or More 
Consecutive 

Months 

Fine Per Day $0 $500 $1,000 $1,500 $2,000 
Days in 
Month 30 30 30 30 30 

Base Fine 
per Month $0 $15,000 $30,000 $45,000 $60,000 

 
9.5 Answer Time for Trouble Reports and Billing and Non-billing Inquiries Fine. 

The fines for Operator Answer Time will be assessed on a carrier for each 
day that it fails to meet the minimum standard of answering at least 80% of 
the all customer calls within 60 seconds. 
The initial base fine is $500 per day, which will escalate to the highest daily 
fine of $2,000 per day. Table 3 illustrates the progression. 

 
Table 3: Base Answer Time Fine 

 
 1 to 2 

Consecutive 
Months 

3 to 5 
Consecutive 

Months 

6 to 8 
Consecutive 

Months 

9 to 11 
Consecutive 

Months 

12 or More 
Consecutive 

Months 
Fine Per Day $0 $500 $1,000 $1,500 $2,000 

Days in 
Month 30 30 30 30 30 

Base Fine 
per Month $0 $15,000 $30,000 $45,000 $60,000 

 
9.6 Advice Letter Tabulating Fine. The performance of any telephone 

corporation that does not meet the minimum standards shall submit 
annually, by February 15 of the following year, a Tier II Advice Letter that 
shows by month each Service Quality measurement that it did not meet 
the minimum standards and the applicable fine. 
The advice letter shall contain detailed calculations using MS Excel 
spreadsheets (or a format specified by the Communications Division) with 
explanations of how each fine was calculated and assumptions used in the 
calculation. CD will prepare a resolution for the Commission annually, and 
if the resolution is adopted, then fines shall be payable to the California 
Public Utilities Commission for deposit to the California General Fund. 
The minimum annual fine shall be no lower than the registration fee for a 
CPCN. 

9.7 Alternative Proposal for Mandatory Corrective Action 
In support of a request to suspend the fine, carriers may propose, in their 
annual fine filing, to invest no less than twice the amount of their annual 



fine in a project (s) which improves service quality in a measurable way 
within 2 years. The proposal must demonstrate that 1) twice the amount of 
the fine is being spent, 2) the project (s) is an incremental expenditure with 
supporting financials (e.g. expenditure is in excess of the existing 
construction budget and/or staffing base), 3) the project (s) is designed to 
address a service quality deficiency and, 4) upon the project (s) 
completion, the carrier shall demonstrate the results for the purpose 
proposed. 
Carriers are encouraged to review their service quality results to find must 
receive approval from Communications Division, or its successor, to ensure 
they have picked appropriate target projects to invest funds. 
Communications Division or its successor may reject target projects or select 
other projects for investment.  

10. CUSTOMER NOTIFICATION  
To inform customers of carrier performance, carriers shall annually provide 
customer notification detailing their performance from the previous year. The 
notice should have data consistent with the data contained in the Annual 
Voice Service Measures Filing, detailed in Section 4. The notice should be 
provided to customers in the billing cycle following the Annual Voice Service 
Measures Filing. This notice shall contain, at minimum: 

a. Total outages: the cumulative number of outages experienced by customers 
across the carrier’s network in California. 

b. Total outage user-days: the total number of user-days wherein service was 
disrupted due to an outage. 24 outage hours, experienced by any number of 
cumulative subscribers, shall constitute one outage user-day. 

c. Average outage user-days: the average number of outage user-days 
experienced by a customer. I.e. the above number divided by the total 
number of users of the service. 

d. Total fine assessed: the total amount of fines that the carrier paid due to 
provisions of this General Order.  

11. COMMISSION STAFF REPORTS  
CD staff will compile and post the minimum service standards and the 
performance of each telephone corporation on the Commission’s website. 
The website content will include data contained in the Quarterly Voice 
Service Measures Filing (detailed in Section 3), the Annual Voice Service 
Measures Filing (detailed in Section 4), Automatic Customer Credit Records 
(detailed in Section 8), and Customer Notification (detailed in Section 10). 

 
12. FORM 

The attached form is a template for reporting GO 133-D Service Quality 
Standards. The staff may change this form as necessary. Additional 
information can be found on the Commission’s website. 
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